Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
A word of warning to viewers... don't substitute orange extract for the orange zest. I was out of oranges so I decided to use orange extract. The alcohol reacted with something in the recipe and the dough turned a bluish-green color. The scones tasted ok, but they were so hideous colored that I had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were fabulous! I used half cream/half milk because I didn't have any half-and-half, left the cranberries whole, and used ground pecans instead of walnuts. After baking, I used some of the juice from the orange I zested and combined it with a cup of powdered sugar to brush onto the warm scones. Perfect cold weather breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I did this recipe as directed. Yes, the scones were very wet with the batter, so instead of adding so much flour, I simply split the recipe in half, dusted them with flour, then put each into a sprayed glass bread pan. No rolling, no fuss, and easy to cut into triangles after they cooled. Now I need a glaze recipe of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Rios Morrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Used craisins so did eliminated step with sugar and orange. Used Splenda brown sugar blend - otherwise followed recipe exactly. Looking forward to trying with other additions (e.g. chocolate chunks, raisins, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I used toasted almonds instead of walnuts, due to allergy, but they are fabulous! Took them to a cookie exchange and they loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very easy to make and tastes wonderful. Scones are a bit sticky from my experiences, so that wasn't a surprise to me. My entire family loved it and it's a way for me o use cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I made a couple of adjustments to the recipe. I only used one-half cup of 1/2 and 1/2 which was plently of liquid. I did still need to add a bit more flour when I kneaded the dough. I dusted the top of the scones with bakers' sugar before baking. I brought them for a "food day" at work. They were very well received.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine VW
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
The recipe doesn't really say when to add the fruit/nuts, so I did it after the wet ingredients and kneeded it in. Turned out really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very tasty! I used vanilla yogurt and heavy cream instead of the half and half and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by invierno_eterno

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Delicious! I traded out the walnuts for flax seed and used 1 tbsp orange juice instead of orange zest. They came out moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States