Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I have now made this a couple of times and love it! Great reviews from those who tired them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
They taste really good, but they were a mess before they baked. They were way too sticky, so I added flour so I could handle them and get them onto the baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
I followed the recipe (almost) exactly, adding a bit more fresh cranberries (half of a small bag) and a bit more chopped walnuts (about 3/4 cup). The dough was sticky, but not so much that it couldn't be folded over on itself in a light kneading on a board with about 1 tsp. of flour. I topped the scones with coarse sugar before baking rather than make a frosting to drizzle on. I highly recommend this recipe. The additional cranberries and walnuts ensure some in every bite. Delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Delicious...really good recipe! I didn't use nutmeg or nuts and I brushed the tops with milk and sprinkled with sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Omitted orange zest and nuts... not bad. not fantastic. might be better with omitted items. Would make again but change a few. liquids ARE off... I think you are supposed to add until a dough forms and not add all. added more flour until I reached a bread like consistency and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Tried this recipe yesterday, and I'm making another batch today! They are really delicious. Yes, the dough is a bit sticky, but the finished product is slightly moist, not like some scones that are almost too dry to swallow. I avoided actually adding more flour to the mixture, but I did dip my fingers in flour before trying to pat each half of the dough into a flat circle. That seemed to work fine as far as making the dough a little easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These are really really good. I used them for catering an office meeting and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
A lovely, soft scone. The batter was definitely softer than "kneadable", so I just dropped it in mounds onto the baking sheet and flattened them a bit. The flavor is great- the citrus really compliments the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These are great! I followed the original recipe and the dough was PERFECT! Not too sticky or too dry. The taste is out of this world and I am going to try the orange glaze on a few to see how that is. They are just fine without though. Can't wait to try the recipe with different extras as suggested in other reviews. This a real keeper ....soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
A word of warning to viewers... don't substitute orange extract for the orange zest. I was out of oranges so I decided to use orange extract. The alcohol reacted with something in the recipe and the dough turned a bluish-green color. The scones tasted ok, but they were so hideous colored that I had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Chef John's Whole-Grain Blueberry Scones

Perfect for lunch or simply to let someone know they're loved!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States