Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Jan
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Tried this recipe yesterday, and I'm making another batch today! They are really delicious. Yes, the dough is a bit sticky, but the finished product is slightly moist, not like some scones that are almost too dry to swallow. I avoided actually adding more flour to the mixture, but I did dip my fingers in flour before trying to pat each half of the dough into a flat circle. That seemed to work fine as far as making the dough a little easier to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
These are really really good. I used them for catering an office meeting and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
A lovely, soft scone. The batter was definitely softer than "kneadable", so I just dropped it in mounds onto the baking sheet and flattened them a bit. The flavor is great- the citrus really compliments the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These are great! I followed the original recipe and the dough was PERFECT! Not too sticky or too dry. The taste is out of this world and I am going to try the orange glaze on a few to see how that is. They are just fine without though. Can't wait to try the recipe with different extras as suggested in other reviews. This a real keeper ....soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
A word of warning to viewers... don't substitute orange extract for the orange zest. I was out of oranges so I decided to use orange extract. The alcohol reacted with something in the recipe and the dough turned a bluish-green color. The scones tasted ok, but they were so hideous colored that I had to throw them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
These were fabulous! I used half cream/half milk because I didn't have any half-and-half, left the cranberries whole, and used ground pecans instead of walnuts. After baking, I used some of the juice from the orange I zested and combined it with a cup of powdered sugar to brush onto the warm scones. Perfect cold weather breakfast treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I did this recipe as directed. Yes, the scones were very wet with the batter, so instead of adding so much flour, I simply split the recipe in half, dusted them with flour, then put each into a sprayed glass bread pan. No rolling, no fuss, and easy to cut into triangles after they cooled. Now I need a glaze recipe of some sort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckythebarber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Used craisins so did eliminated step with sugar and orange. Used Splenda brown sugar blend - otherwise followed recipe exactly. Looking forward to trying with other additions (e.g. chocolate chunks, raisins, etc).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I used toasted almonds instead of walnuts, due to allergy, but they are fabulous! Took them to a cookie exchange and they loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Very easy to make and tastes wonderful. Scones are a bit sticky from my experiences, so that wasn't a surprise to me. My entire family loved it and it's a way for me o use cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States