Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I left out the nuts and instead put in white chocolate chips! Delicious! Can taste the nutmeg flavor too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I doubled this recipe according to calculations. The "dough" was so sticky, I could not handle it. I added up to an extra cup of flour and it still looked like muffin batter. So I had to make muffins. Very disappointed as I was making this for someone from England and I wanted to surprise her with authentic scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
I made the recipe as is except for the walnuts. The dough is indeed too sticky, and I was scrupulous about keeping the butter cold, cut in like a good pastry, and not over-handling the dough. I would definitely reduce the half and half from 3/4 of a cup to 1/2 cup, but add about one more tablespoon of butter to make up for the fat loss. The flavor was good - just the dough was not very workable, and the texture was too soft for scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
good flavor and easy to make, i'll probably add about 1/4 to 1/2 cup more flour next time so they don't flatten out so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
After reading the comments, I used only 1/2 cup of cream. NO KNEADING for scones, and I have the KAF mini scone pan that I use for brownies as well. Love the crispy edges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
just tried this recipe; great as is! Haven't a clue how others are getting muffin batter from this unless perhaps they didn't properly chill butter. Was a typical wet scone dough. One must keep flour to the side of pastry board when kneeding dough and be sure to have hands floured as well but don't actually add extra flour to the recipe or your scones will be tough & dry. Thanks this is a keeper ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
The scones were actually quite tasty. I substituted slivered almonds for the walnuts. But, the batter was really wet (noted by some others), and the scones ended up almost having the consistency of bread rather than the satisfying denseness of a scone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I made a few changes which is the only reason I have it a 3. Instead of nutmeg I used cinnamon, instead of cream I used a 1/2 cup of far free Greek yogurt. I did not add the nuts. I also cut the orange after zesting and used half of the juice. I just dropped spoonfuls onto the cookie sheet instead of shaping and cutting it. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdembo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Flavors are there, but I couldn't grade the texture because I kept having to add more flour - maybe 3/4 c more - and the dough became gluey. Way off on the liquid to dry ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Very good. And relatively easy. Forget the kneading part. It's too sticky. I used almond milk and it was wonderful! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States