Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I've made this recipe several times, and it always draws rave comments. The only alteration I'd recommend is to use a little more flour, maybe 1/4 cup. Also, I prefer more traditionally shaped scones, so I shape them into balls on the cookie sheet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is a PERFECT recipe. Don't be confused by the instructions to knead the batter. I think the author just means to mix the berries and nuts well. Instead, I dropped rounded spoonfuls on a baking sheet and baked at 375 for 20 minutes as instructed. These scones couldn't have been any better from a New York City bakery! I've made three batches of this recipe in one week and everyone who has tried one has raved (and everyone thinks they must be so hard to make! I've got them fooled!) I use the Crasins found next to raisins and leave out the sugar and orange. For variation, I've substituted chocolate chips and walnuts. DELICIOUS and PERFECT every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
Good. I think I like my scones a bit simpler, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
I loved this recipe!! I used the new orange flavored crasins and they gave it a great flavor and I omitted the sugar as they were already sweetened. My husband who hates scones said that he liked these because they were not as dry and crumbly as others he has had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
Made these with my 3-yr-old twins who love to "make-a make-a" anything with me. They were very easy to make, exceptionally fragrant, moist and flavorful. I made two batches and they kept well in a zip-top bag for 2 days, after which everybody asked me to make more. One batch I made with the fresh cranberries as the recipe called, and one with cranberry raisins. Both were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
yummy, flavorful, especially around Christmas! Only, the dough IS too sticky to think about kneading.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenKT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Algonquin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
I made these twice over the last week because my grandmother and I liked them so well. Only problem is the sticky dough...whoever thought that it was possible to knead this was insane! Second time I made them, I just poured out the dough into two circles on the cookie sheet and just cut them into wedges after they were baked. I'll try adding more flour next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
Made these for Thanksgiving. The dough was extremely sticky, however with additional flour it was just fine. I omitted the nuts and used craisins instead of fresh cranberries. A real hit. My Mom was disappointed that she didn't have one to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
I hate to give a bad rating for this recipe because it looks so yummy and has potential, but it was an absolute disaster! The recipe calls for way too much cream and not enough flour. My "dough" was the consistency of muffin batter and I followed the recipe exactly. Kneeding it was out of the question.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
We're big scones fans around here and these were excellent. I did add a touch more flour, though scones make a sticky dough. I also drizzled an orange glaze over them when slightly cooled to make them like the ones we get at Starbucks! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVIST

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States