Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I made these for breakfast Christmas morning. These were great! I left out the walnuts due to nut allergies in my family. I also skipped the kneading and dropped the dough onto a parchment covered cookie sheet by spoon. I made 20 small scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2005
This was so good. I used dried cranberries instead of fresh, delicious. I also used sliced almonds instead of walnuts. Instead of half and half, I used one cup of vanilla yogurt and 1/4 cup of skim milk. I dropped tablespoonfuls and it made 15. They baked in 17 minutes. They were fast and easy. I can't wait to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
I love this recipe. Made the scones for Mother's Day brunch and they were a big hit! No leftovers. I took the advice of previous reviews: dropped dough by the spoonful on cookie sheet, brushed with egg wash and sprinkled sugar on top of scones and substitued orange craisins. Great flavor and beautiful scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2005
Excellent with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
Delicious scones! Like others have said, just skip the kneading and plop 9-12 spoonfuls of dough on the baking sheet. I served these with strawberry jam and mock Devonshire cream -- everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
I was a little worried making this, I've never made scones before. They remind me of tea biscuits. The dough is VERY sticky. When I separated the dough and cut them in to wedges, I used flour dusted wax paper to set the dough on and extra flour as needed. You're triangle wedges will not be the exact same size but don't try to get them perfect. I found that when I put them on the cookie sheet I was worried by their appearance, but as they came out of the oven they looked good. In the end the taste made up for the trouble. I wouldn't make these everyday but they are a great treat throughout the holiday season. My rating is a 4.5 for taste and a 3.5 to a 4 for ease. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
Amazing recipe! I used orange flavored Craisins and help back 1/4 cup of the half and half. They were easy to shape and the finished consistency was perfect. My friends loved them so much that I gave all but one away. Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Tried this out a while ago. Used rasins instead of cranberries and it turned out great! It's so easy to do too. For more color though, I brushed the top of each scone with eggwash (eggyolk+milk) so that they come out Golden Brown after baking. Received great reviews from my family. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YLUCIANO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I've made this recipe several times, and it always draws rave comments. The only alteration I'd recommend is to use a little more flour, maybe 1/4 cup. Also, I prefer more traditionally shaped scones, so I shape them into balls on the cookie sheet. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is a PERFECT recipe. Don't be confused by the instructions to knead the batter. I think the author just means to mix the berries and nuts well. Instead, I dropped rounded spoonfuls on a baking sheet and baked at 375 for 20 minutes as instructed. These scones couldn't have been any better from a New York City bakery! I've made three batches of this recipe in one week and everyone who has tried one has raved (and everyone thinks they must be so hard to make! I've got them fooled!) I use the Crasins found next to raisins and leave out the sugar and orange. For variation, I've substituted chocolate chips and walnuts. DELICIOUS and PERFECT every time!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
166 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States