Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I substituted fresh blueberries halved for the cranberries and omitted the walnuts. Once everything was combined the "dough" had the consistency of a muffin batter and was incredibly sticky. It was impossible to knead or roll out. I added about 1/2 cup of flour as suggested by other users but the consistency still wasn't thick enough. In total I probably added 1.5 cups of flour just to make the batter workable. While they look great, they came out quite bland in the flavor department. I doubt I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Loved this recipe! Lost of folks said it needed a dash more flour so I did that, but then I needed to add a bit more cream to even it out, so all in all, leave it alone I think. Also, I used blueberries and had to kind of make them cookie shaped, but with an orange glaze this was lovely. Thank you for a great recipe and I hope to see more from you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
Delicious! For half the dough I added semi sweet chocolate chips. Both were good but liked it best without the chips. My parents loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
As a previous reviewer suggested, I substituted 1/2 cup yogurt and a splash of heavy cream and milk for the half and half. I also substituted a couple splashes of almond extract (approx. 1t) for the orange rind and nuts. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Loved these..and i am a scone snob..very light and soft. Not crusty hard and dry like some scones. I added white chocolate chips and used whipping cream. Then I drizzled orange glaze on top while warm. Also just dropped by spoon onto baking sheet..turned out perfect and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Love love love this recipe! Have made it twice this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dhmiller 5
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Great recipe! It worked perfectly as it's written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This was pretty good. They had a strange texture, maybe because I didn't add enough extra flour and the dough was moist. They tasted good, just didn't look the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I love the flavor of this scone. I did have to make a few adjustments when I made them. I too found the batter a bit sticky and hard to work with even on a floured surface. I used a cast iron scone pan which makes 8 scones and the batter did fill all 8 molds. I simply spooned portions of the sticky dough in the pan and baked them. It took mine about double the time to bake. It was worth the wait. They were simply deeeeeeeelicious. Gave some to a few co-workers. So nice and moist and such yummy flavor. I topped them with a bright orange flavored powdered sugar glaze. For sure will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Beth Ruesch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I am not sure what I did wrong but I did not wnd up with a dough, just a batter, so I kept adding flour until I could shape it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Cranberry Cornish Hens

Impress guests with these elegant hens—the perfect size to serve individually.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States