Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I have been making scones for a while, particularly in the past few days... This recipe's base is wonderful. Buttery and flakey, instead of crumbly. I had a few people tell me this was their favorite scone - and I think I will save this recipe, even to use the base and switch out the cranberry for something else from time to time, such as blueberries and blackberries and chocolate chips. By the by, I used regular milk - we didnt have buttermilk. Turned out great anyway. Just to let others know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Highland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This scone recipe is perfect! I add the dry ingredients to my food processor & give it a quick buzz. Then drop in chunks of cold butter through the feed tube while pulsing until the butter is the size of peas. Pour the mix into a bowl & stir in the chopped cranberries. I also add the zest of an orange & chopped, toasted walnuts at this point. Make a well and pour in the buttermilk. Stir the dough just until it comes together. Gather the dough and work it into a ball, then flatten into a disc, handling the dough as little as possible. Cut the scones, using a pizza cutter dipped in flour between each cut. The key is baking these on a hot pizza stone. Give the stone a generous coating of Crisco and pop it in the cold oven to get hot while the oven preheats. Gently put the scones on the stone & bake until lightly browned, about 15 minues. Cool the scones on a rack - another key to keeping the bottoms crispy. I opt to serve these with a glaze. Simply mix sifted powdered sugar, softened butter, milk & vanilla. Put it in a small zip-lock bag with the corner snipped off for piping ease. I recommend serving these right away. If you store them air-tight, they'll still taste yummy, but loose the amazing crunchy/crispy texture you worked so hard to get. For a lemon poppyseed version, add 3 T. of poppyseeds & the zest of 1 lemon to the flour mixture. In a 3/4 c. measuring cup, add the juice of 1 lemon, 1/2 tsp. lemon extract & add milk to fill the cup. Proceed combining as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALZCAB
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I loved this recipe! If you add too much flour more that what is in the recipe your scones will turn out heavy and dry. If you think the dough is too soft just make sure your board is well floured, you will pick up more as you knead. I didn't add any extr flour other than what was on my board when I kneaded. Fabulous serverd with "Orange Honey Butter" from this site. I also served with my homemade Cranberry Walnut Jam. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALZCAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I *love* cranberries, but most recipes call for dried ones. They do not have the zing of fresh! So I went through and found all the recipes I could with fresh cranberries, and I decided to try this one for a party. They are very tender and light and quite easy to make. I don't actually like butter on things, but since this was for a party I made the butter (the night before so the flavors would meld). I used frozen cranberries and chopped them in the blender. I only used one stick of butter instead of three. I used the zest from half an orange, and put the other half of the zest into the scone recipe. I also squeezed some of the juice of the orange into the butter. My guests said they loved it and were actually eating it on baguette! Other than the orange zest, I didn't change the scone recipe except to brush the tops with butter and sprinkle with a little bit of sugar before baking. I can't say the scones are too different from buttermilk biscuits with cranberry, but hey, I like biscuits. The cranberries are not too puckery even though there's relatively little sugar in the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Way up here in Yellowknife we find some great wild cranberries; this recipe was a great way to enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
In all of the tea rooms I have been to, no one has ever had scones this fantastic. I will just have tea at my house from now on!! :) Seriously people....these are incredible. Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Fabulous recipe. I don't alter a thing, except that I just use the scone recipe, it doesn't even need the cranberry orange butter. If you opt to just make the scones, add 2 tsp of orange zest right to the batter. Don't be scared by the "crumb" consistency - they bake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Funny thing happen to me when I was making this recipe. I didn't have but 3/4 cup of cranberries. SO I had to use them wisely. I made the butter wrong...dummy me. I used 2 tbsp butter with 1 cup of confectioner's sugar and a zest of orange and when I realized what I did, I didn't want to scrap it. SO when I made the scones. I just poured the glaze over the scones and let them dry and cool at room temp...and OMG!!!! Talk about making them taste awesome!!! I think I baked them slightly underdone, but they were so soft that I can't complain. WOW!!! What an excellent goof up. Next time I'll make it the way it's written, but then again...I totally like my goof up. Thanks TOH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I just wasted three sticks of butter because this recipe is really unclear. I except scones to take a lot of butter, but this needs to be rewritten more clearly to reflect that the first four ingredients are for the cranberry orange butter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DerangedCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These are yummy. I also made mine in the food processor, but I think I over processed it a bit. Still turned out great. I did not want to make orange butter. My intent was to add orange zest/juice to the dough to recreate a scone I had at a coffee shop. However, I forgot to purchase oranges. I ended up using a little zest and a couple tablespoons of fresh lemon juice instead. I liked it even better than the orange. I also used dried cranberries because I like the flavor/texture. I needed to add a lot of flour to the board when cutting them out, but it worked out fine. Brushed on a little egg wash and sprinkled just regular sugar on top because I couldn't find the large sugar crystals. Worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States