Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Really, really good. I'm getting tired of sweet things around the holidays, so I omitted the glaze. I also substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for some of the all purpose, and then added two tablespoons of sour cream. The texture and the flavor are amazing! Perfect for a not-too-sweet dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This scone recipe is perfect! I add the dry ingredients to my food processor & give it a quick buzz. Then drop in chunks of cold butter through the feed tube while pulsing until the butter is the size of peas. Pour the mix into a bowl & stir in the chopped cranberries. I also add the zest of an orange & chopped, toasted walnuts at this point. Make a well and pour in the buttermilk. Stir the dough just until it comes together. Gather the dough and work it into a ball, then flatten into a disc, handling the dough as little as possible. Cut the scones, using a pizza cutter dipped in flour between each cut. The key is baking these on a hot pizza stone. Give the stone a generous coating of Crisco and pop it in the cold oven to get hot while the oven preheats. Gently put the scones on the stone & bake until lightly browned, about 15 minues. Cool the scones on a rack - another key to keeping the bottoms crispy. I opt to serve these with a glaze. Simply mix sifted powdered sugar, softened butter, milk & vanilla. Put it in a small zip-lock bag with the corner snipped off for piping ease. I recommend serving these right away. If you store them air-tight, they'll still taste yummy, but loose the amazing crunchy/crispy texture you worked so hard to get. For a lemon poppyseed version, add 3 T. of poppyseeds & the zest of 1 lemon to the flour mixture. In a 3/4 c. measuring cup, add the juice of 1 lemon, 1/2 tsp. lemon extract & add milk to fill the cup. Proceed combining as usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These are perfect- my husband loved them and so did I. Love the tang of the cranberries against the sweet of the scone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
In all of the tea rooms I have been to, no one has ever had scones this fantastic. I will just have tea at my house from now on!! :) Seriously people....these are incredible. Thank you for sharing this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Really impressive scone recipe. Less dense than the scones I'm used to. I halved the fresh cranberries. Didn't try the butter, but will next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
This recipe is delicious! I have been making scones for a while, particularly in the past few days... This recipe's base is wonderful. Buttery and flakey, instead of crumbly. I had a few people tell me this was their favorite scone - and I think I will save this recipe, even to use the base and switch out the cranberry for something else from time to time, such as blueberries and blackberries and chocolate chips. By the by, I used regular milk - we didnt have buttermilk. Turned out great anyway. Just to let others know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Highland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NICEGIRL512
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I *love* cranberries, but most recipes call for dried ones. They do not have the zing of fresh! So I went through and found all the recipes I could with fresh cranberries, and I decided to try this one for a party. They are very tender and light and quite easy to make. I don't actually like butter on things, but since this was for a party I made the butter (the night before so the flavors would meld). I used frozen cranberries and chopped them in the blender. I only used one stick of butter instead of three. I used the zest from half an orange, and put the other half of the zest into the scone recipe. I also squeezed some of the juice of the orange into the butter. My guests said they loved it and were actually eating it on baguette! Other than the orange zest, I didn't change the scone recipe except to brush the tops with butter and sprinkle with a little bit of sugar before baking. I can't say the scones are too different from buttermilk biscuits with cranberry, but hey, I like biscuits. The cranberries are not too puckery even though there's relatively little sugar in the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALZCAB
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
I loved this recipe! If you add too much flour more that what is in the recipe your scones will turn out heavy and dry. If you think the dough is too soft just make sure your board is well floured, you will pick up more as you knead. I didn't add any extr flour other than what was on my board when I kneaded. Fabulous serverd with "Orange Honey Butter" from this site. I also served with my homemade Cranberry Walnut Jam. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALZCAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This was an amazing recipe. We had to add a bit more flour when kneading, but other than that, it was perfect! Everyone loved them, and we shared them at the kids' school. The teachers raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States