Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
These are wonderful! I opted to use the dried cranberries, and may make them again with one of the flavored cranberries (blueberry or pomegranate). I made these for my coworkers, and had waaaaay too much of the butter, I guess many of the people who tried them did not want butter. The next time I made them, I only made 1/3 of the butter recipe, and did not put in any cranberries, just the powdered sugar and orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
These were the best scones I have ever eaten! Very light and full of flavor! I used a dried berry mix (blueberry, cranberry, and cherry) instead of fresh cranberries, and instead of making the butter, I melted 2 Tbsp. butter and added 1/3 c. powdered sugar. I pulled the scones out when they still had about 2 minutes to go, and brushed it on top. Then I finished baking the scones and served them hot with homemade Devonshire Cream. They don't get any better than this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babymakes5

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Good recipe. Unfortunatly I didn't have any fresh cranberries on hand so I used dried ones. Propably not as good but delicious nonetheless. Thx for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmanuelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Les Ulis, Île-De-France, France
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
Way up here in Yellowknife we find some great wild cranberries; this recipe was a great way to enjoy them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
These are yummy. I also made mine in the food processor, but I think I over processed it a bit. Still turned out great. I did not want to make orange butter. My intent was to add orange zest/juice to the dough to recreate a scone I had at a coffee shop. However, I forgot to purchase oranges. I ended up using a little zest and a couple tablespoons of fresh lemon juice instead. I liked it even better than the orange. I also used dried cranberries because I like the flavor/texture. I needed to add a lot of flour to the board when cutting them out, but it worked out fine. Brushed on a little egg wash and sprinkled just regular sugar on top because I couldn't find the large sugar crystals. Worked just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Funny thing happen to me when I was making this recipe. I didn't have but 3/4 cup of cranberries. SO I had to use them wisely. I made the butter wrong...dummy me. I used 2 tbsp butter with 1 cup of confectioner's sugar and a zest of orange and when I realized what I did, I didn't want to scrap it. SO when I made the scones. I just poured the glaze over the scones and let them dry and cool at room temp...and OMG!!!! Talk about making them taste awesome!!! I think I baked them slightly underdone, but they were so soft that I can't complain. WOW!!! What an excellent goof up. Next time I'll make it the way it's written, but then again...I totally like my goof up. Thanks TOH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These are TOTALLY delicious. You can make tweaks to this recipe if you want, but it is fabulous as is. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mscoles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Excellent. I mixed the dry ingredients in the food processor. Then added chunks of cold butter along with the frozen cranberries and pulsed until mixed. Then I poured half-and-half with vinegar and almond extract added through the feed tube until mixed. I spooned the soft batter directly into my Williams-Sonoma scone pan and baked for the recommended time. Tender and delicious. NOT crumbly. My husband loved them and the fact they are relatively low in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBINBRADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Meridian, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
Loved these. Didn't do the butter/spread and added grated orange peel to the batter. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Fabulous recipe. I don't alter a thing, except that I just use the scone recipe, it doesn't even need the cranberry orange butter. If you opt to just make the scones, add 2 tsp of orange zest right to the batter. Don't be scared by the "crumb" consistency - they bake perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States