Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
these are really nice scones. I've used craisins in the past and not true cranberries. I love the flavor that cranberries give the pastry. The only comment I had during the prep time is no where does it tell me to chop the cranberries that go in the butter. I decided that it needed to be chopped and not left whole but this really should be identified as chopped as listed for the scone part. The cranberry butter is wonderful! Takes the scone over the top! 1 1/2 cups of butter for 16 scones is just too much though. I will cut it by at least half next time. In all, I have added this to my recipe box and WILL make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Earwood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Simply delicious, moist and fluffy! The cranberry butter was a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eggroll

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Not quite as good as I expected. I'm a scone novice so I may need to do more research before trying it again to get some help with the dough process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigerbopper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is the best scones recipe I have made yet. It's also the first time I ever used fresh cranberries. My family loves these. When my husband ate 3 of them after dinner I knew it was a hit. He never does that! I didn't make the butter for the top, we just eat them like they are. Fantastic recipe, this will now be my primary scones reipe no matter what I add to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Wonderful & the butter was just heavenly! These will become a Christmas morning staple @ my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These came out excellent. I shopped my fresh cranberries in the food processor and did the rest by hand. I didn't make the butter as I had orange jam on hand. They puff up nicely so I cut my second batch into smaller pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aroche1204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This is a delicious and tender scone. I just tweaked it a little: used dried cranberries that I re hydrated in some hot water. I also added the grated rind and the juice from one orange (about 2 T + the buttermilk to equal 3/4 cup). I also brushed the tops with cream. Will make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
My whole fam loves these! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
These scones are moist and delicious. They were so easy and everyone loved them so I am making more tonight. The recipe for the cranberry orange butter above the scone recipe makes WAY too much. It makes two times more butter than was put in the scones. It seems unnecessary and I now have way more butter than I need. Make about 1/4 that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Lovely recipe! Do not over mix otherwise the scones turn out tough and dry. I grated orange peel into the scone dough- about a tablespoon and instead of orange butter I topped the scones with an Orange Glaze. Super yummy! The Orange Glaze is also featured on this site. Orange Glaze I is the official title of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States