Cranberry Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe was amazing. My husband even loved them and he doesn't usually like fresh cranberries in anything. I will definitely be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
Pretty yummy - used soured half and half instead of buttermilk and half whole wheat flour. Added frozen mixed berries instead of cranberries and scooped with ice cream scoop instead of kneading out into a circle and cutting. Also, included some cinnamon and a dash of cardamom with the dry ingredients. Maybe I'd add a little salt next time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
I only made the scones and as they were great, I think they needed a touch of salt in the recipe just to pull out all the yummy flavours more. I look forward to trying the butter next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeBt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I did the same thing as someone below and wasted three sticks of butter, not realizing the first four ingredients are the ORANGE BUTTER. Could be more clearly labeled, but I also should have thought through what I was doing. Cooking rookie here. Anyway, once that debacle was out of the way, this recipe turned out great! I used chocolate chips instead of cranberries (despite the recipe title) and they still turned out great. For the second batch, instead of 8 wedges, I cut 16 smaller triangles, and baked 11 or 12 minutes. I like that portion size better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Recipe perfectly scrumptious as written. I had to use dried cranberries and will soak them first next time, but the scones were yummy and GONE in minutes. 1/4 cup of the cranberry butter was enough for the half-batch I baked tonight. I used Splenda one-for-one in both recipes (butter and scones). Can't wait to make them again. Thanks for a wonderfully flavorful and EASY PEAZY recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
These sound delicious but I am confused...when do I add the ingredients that were in the fridge??...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
My god these scones are good! The butter recipe is massive, so I halfed it and it was still plenty, it sure added a wonderful flavour to the scones, especially with the orange peel. My husband gobbled them all down and still talks about how good they were!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KT Trondsen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I made a few tweaks to make it my own. I like to add a Tablespoon of fresh grated orange zest, and instead of adding 3/4 cup milk, I did 1/2 cup milk, and 1/4 cup orange juice. I only added 2 Tb of baking powder, I used a recipe similar to this, and I remember being able to taste the baking powder in the finished result. To compensate, I did a little more baking soda (3/4 instead of 1/2). When kneading, I had to add extra flour, because it was a bit too sticky. I used dried cranberries, and it worked well as a substitute! I added a bit more cranberries, because that's what my family likes. Also, instead of making the butter, I drizzled a bit of melted butter when the scones came out of the oven, then sprinkled sugar over them. Overall, good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meggers09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
made these for my family and I barely got to eat one!!....excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I followed Julie62's review entirely (except for excluding the walnuts and leaving the cranberry's whole), and I must say they scones turned out AMAZING! My family (and myself included) all ranted about the scones. This recipe is definitely a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States