Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I baked a traditional stuffing in the bird, and made this separate thinking only the adventurous would give it a try. The men in my family don't care for fruit in their meals. I couldn't believe when they all tried it and took more. The only change I made was hot italian sausage to give it edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I served this at two Thanksgiving dinners and both crowds loved it. The only changes I made (because it was quicker)were using boxed cornbread stuffing instead of white bread cubes, I used a mixture of green and white onions instead of leeks and used one red, green and yellow apple with peels on. My husband really liked the sausage in the stuffing and I'm not a sausage lover but enjoyed it as well. I'll be serving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I combined this with the maple turkey recipe as recommended and absolutely loved it. This was awesome. I couldn't believe how tasty it was. I added a bit more cranberries and chopped pecans. I also used pepperidge farm cubed bread crumbs. Tasted great. I added extra chicken broth and apple juice as needed--but the recipe was truly execeptional on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
All the family and friends at the table loved this recipe last year! I did sub onions for leek and pork sausage for the Italian...added a little extra cranberries too. The big change I did was to bake it in a pumpkin! Bake until a fork can easily pearce the pumpkin meat. I've already had requests to repeat the stuffed pumpkin this year. Prepare pumpkin like you would for a carved jack-o-lantern but without the face. Stuff..then cover with pumpkin lid. A piece of foil covering the top keeps the lid from getting too brown. Makes a nice presentation at the table too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I used this recipe for a dinner party I had a few month ago and people are still talking about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Absolutely fan-double-tastic! I am in love with this stuffing! I made it vegetarian by subbing the sausage for a package of veggie sausage crumbles and using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I like to use Granny Smith apples and I add a couple extra apples because I'm an apple freak! And I make my own poultry seasoning. I also use *fresh* rosemary to taste; adds a bit more zing, less bitter than dried and makes the dish tastier. I cook it in two separate (covered) casserole dishes so I have one to take for a holiday dinner and one extra to keep all to myself! Cook in the oven at 350F for about 50 mins. Add a lil extra broth if you feel the mixture is too dry before baking, but don't go cray with it or it'll go mushy. Yum! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
Wow - I just made this for our Christmas in July (Australian Winter) and just tasted a teaspoon of it!! It is the best stuffing I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
We loved this recipe! I made it for Thanksgiving Dinner and took to some friends from Church. They all loved it. I had to make it for my wife's ladies meeting at church as well. Thanks for the great recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Mannford, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
I made a double batch of this for Christmas and my guests went wild over it. I also substituted the bread cubes for cornbread and oh my is all I am gonna say. So simple to make and I will definitely add this to my must haves for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TMcknett
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oakland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The BEST stuffing I have ever had. I've made it twice now. The first time I used a mix of half hot italian sausage and half mild. The second time, I used all hot and if you like spicy food, it gave the stuffing an extra kick that was quite yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States