Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Very different from the traditional, but great. I was afraid the apples would make the recipe strange, but I was wrong. I will make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this for a bunch of people, even though I don't like stuffing myself. I substituted onions for leeks and left out the celery. I liked the colorful look of the finished product, and my eaters said it was a moist stuffing even without extra broth. Do not serve if you like a drier stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was the best! There are several in my family that do not like stuffing but tasted this when I said it was a new recipe - everyone - including that non stuffing eaters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I enjoyed this recipe very much. Although my husband wasn't a fan of it, he found it to be too sweet with the cranberries. Next time Ill omit them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bristol, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I baked a traditional stuffing in the bird, and made this separate thinking only the adventurous would give it a try. The men in my family don't care for fruit in their meals. I couldn't believe when they all tried it and took more. The only change I made was hot italian sausage to give it edge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I served this at two Thanksgiving dinners and both crowds loved it. The only changes I made (because it was quicker)were using boxed cornbread stuffing instead of white bread cubes, I used a mixture of green and white onions instead of leeks and used one red, green and yellow apple with peels on. My husband really liked the sausage in the stuffing and I'm not a sausage lover but enjoyed it as well. I'll be serving it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I combined this with the maple turkey recipe as recommended and absolutely loved it. This was awesome. I couldn't believe how tasty it was. I added a bit more cranberries and chopped pecans. I also used pepperidge farm cubed bread crumbs. Tasted great. I added extra chicken broth and apple juice as needed--but the recipe was truly execeptional on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
All the family and friends at the table loved this recipe last year! I did sub onions for leek and pork sausage for the Italian...added a little extra cranberries too. The big change I did was to bake it in a pumpkin! Bake until a fork can easily pearce the pumpkin meat. I've already had requests to repeat the stuffed pumpkin this year. Prepare pumpkin like you would for a carved jack-o-lantern but without the face. Stuff..then cover with pumpkin lid. A piece of foil covering the top keeps the lid from getting too brown. Makes a nice presentation at the table too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathyF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I used this recipe for a dinner party I had a few month ago and people are still talking about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
Absolutely fan-double-tastic! I am in love with this stuffing! I made it vegetarian by subbing the sausage for a package of veggie sausage crumbles and using vegetable broth instead of chicken. I like to use Granny Smith apples and I add a couple extra apples because I'm an apple freak! And I make my own poultry seasoning. I also use *fresh* rosemary to taste; adds a bit more zing, less bitter than dried and makes the dish tastier. I cook it in two separate (covered) casserole dishes so I have one to take for a holiday dinner and one extra to keep all to myself! Cook in the oven at 350F for about 50 mins. Add a lil extra broth if you feel the mixture is too dry before baking, but don't go cray with it or it'll go mushy. Yum! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States