Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This stuffing is incredible! Instead of leeks, I used 4 cups of chopped onion. I also used Bob Evans Pork Sausage instead of sweet italian sausage. This was so moist and full of flavor. It made enough to stuff the turkey and fill a baking dish. It's worth the preparation and I'll definitely be making this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Let me start with we are vegetarians. So I used this as just a base stuffing recipe. It was so good. I left out the meat and used veggie broth. I baked it in a pan and it was perfect yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
this was a very flavorful option for stuffing made straight in the oven. My family has a wide variety of dietary preferences so I substituted spicy chicken sausage from Trader Joe's for the Italian pork sausage and got rave reviews. It smelled and looked fabulous and the smokiness and kick of the sausage contrasted beautifully with the sweet/tart of the apple and cranberry. I chose to make it with corn bread and will do this again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This Thanksgiving, I wanted to make all the classic foods but a little different than usual. This stuffing sounded really good and the reviews were overwhelmingly positive, so I chose it. I made it exactly as the recipes indicated and it was easy and delicious. All the dinner guests enjoyed it and half the stuffing was ate before the end of the evening, which is pretty good considering I increased the servings to 24. The only thing I might do next time is increase the sausage and decrease the cranberries (the tart/sweet flavor was the only thing some guests did not care for). Other than that, it was PERFECT and a really nice change from the standard Stovetop variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This has become my "go to" stuffing recipe. It was a hit at thanksgiving yesterday! I added 1/2 cup of walnuts and started with a box of cornbread stovetop because i was pressed for time. Before this recipe I was NEVER a fan of "box" stuffing this makes thanksgiving :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used this recipe this year for the my first time roasting a traditional turkey since we normally deep fry. It was awesome and everyone loved it. I added extra chicken broth to the part that was left after I stuffed my turkey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Delicious! I have never made stuffing and never liked stuffing until today. I made this recipe exactly as is and it was fabulous! Everyone commented on how delicious it smelled and then how wonderful it tasted. I used mild turkey sausage, granny smith apples, leeks, and celery along with the spices. It was easy and so good! One thing - I did not use it to stuff a turkey so there was A LOT of stuffing! Possibly a good idea to scale down the amount if not stuffing a turkey with it too. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
OH MY GOD! I THOUGHT I HAD DIED AND GONE TO HEAVEN! :-) I wanted to try a new stuffing recipe for Thanksgiving this year and I searched of course allrecipes.com and I came across this one. I was not to sure about it calling for apples and pork etc. so I cut the recipe in half today and made it exactley they way the recipe called for so that I could see if it would be worth making for Thanksgiving.! WOW! I am so happy I gave it a try. I love it and I am sure my guests will also, If you are thinking of trying this recipe please do you will not be disappointed. Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe and it is now going to be the only stuffing I make :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry, H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I used this recipe for Thanksgiving this year and it was a huge hit! Everyone took seconds. Very moist and wonderful flavours!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Super, super, super! This stuffing was excellent. I followed the recipe exactly, except I reduced it to 4 servings instead of 12. This is a keeper!Oh, and I used wheat bread, and couldn't tell the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States