Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Due in part to careless reading i made a few substitutions but might keep it the same next year. I substituted 4 cups of sweet onion instead of the 6c leeks. I used ground turkey bratwurst instead of Italian seasoned. I only had one tart apple so I also used 2 gala apples and finally, I used 1c chopped dates instead of dried cranberries. I have some picky stuffing eaters and didn't want to throw them off with the red flakes. I love this recipe. It blended my father-in-laws love of sweet stuffing with the apples and my mom's love for sausage stuffing without being as greasy as with pork sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving. I live overseas and There are no cranberries here. At the time the only sausage that I could find was chorizo. No thanks! I replaced the cranberries with raisins and the sausage with sauteed bacon. Delicious! Normally I don't care for the stuffing at all, but this time it was one of my favorite parts of the meal. I was very proud as this was my first time cooking for thanksgiving. YAY!!! (BTW, i had no sage and had no problem.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This stuffing is the best I have ever tasted. I used both fresh cranberries and dried cranberries, but could not tell the difference between them once it was cooked. This will be a yearly tradition for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spice Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I used Jimmy Dean Maple Pork Sausage instead of the Italian Sausage. I used 3 cups onions instead of 6 cups leeks. I took a lot of people's advice and left out the dried cranberries. I added 1/3 cup more chicken stock to make the stuffing more moist because it needed it. Family who did not even like stuffing before absolutely LOVED this stuffing. I used the Jimmy Dean Maple Pork Sausage because I thought it might pair well with the HoneyBaked Ham we were having and it sure did! Huge hit! Will use again for Christmas dinner! It was my first year making any holiday dinner and this recipe helped me pull it off!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This was a favorite with my family. Be sure to add a little more broth...so isn't dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I used store bought bread stuffing cubes, Jimmy Dean original sausage and onions (slightly carmelized) instead of leeks. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. It was fantastic! Just the right amount of liquid, which is so important for a good stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Simple the best stuffing in the world. I used 3 small onion vrs the leeks and only 5 oz of dried crandberries
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Excellent! This recipe did not last very long; Next time I will substitute cornbread for the white bread for a different flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trill14n

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Made this last year along with the Maple Roast Turkey both were a BIG hit. I'm making both again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
Very yummy. I make this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of 3 hungry boys

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States