Cranberry, Sausage and Apple Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I made this for Thanksgiving and we think we'd like this better with some modifications. I was skeptical about using sausage and was right, next time I'm leaving that out. We keep picking it out of the leftovers! We're not big rosemary fans, so I substituted some basil, oregano, and a little pumpkin pie spice - the flavorings were right on. I'd also use 1/4 to 1/2 less cranberries because they make it really sweet. I will be making this again for Christmas though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
This was okay. I found it kind of bland in spite of all the different ingredients and herbs. Plus, it was kind of dry. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
The leeks added great flavor to the stuffing. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
This stuffing was a hit with my skeptical family. We've been having the same stuffing for so many years, they reluctantly agreed for me to make it in addition to the usual one, and now they are requesting that I make it every time we have turkey. This makes a big quantity, so I froze half and used it later with turkey leftovers and just needed to remoisten it with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
considering my boyfirend doesn't like cranberries or apples... i figure him eating all the stuffing that was left over for the next two days high praise. i added twice as many cranberries, solely because i bought too many, but in t he end they made it very moist and tasty! thankyou!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portsmouth, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
This was the best stuffing I have ever made, because it is delicious and beautiful. Use it to stuff the Maple Roast Turkey. What a treat! I put a portion in the bird, and I used a little bit of the maple butter from Ibby's turkey recipe to butter a casserole dish that I used to bake the remainder. YUM! My family was delighted! Thanks Ibby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Very good! The only thing I would do is cut the amount of bread used in half, and place that in the dish first. Then cover with the rest of the mixture. Otherwise, much gracy is needed to soften the bread. EXCELLENT. Try her Maple turkey with this recipe, also worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2005
Very good, moist dressing with lots of flavor. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
I substituted onions for leeks, and I actually forgot to buy cranberries, but this was still one of the best stuffings I've had. This will be made again and again in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I got lots of great feedback on this stuffing. I made it to take to my daughter's Thanksgiving feast at school this week. I used 4 cups of onions instead of the leeks. It seemed like an awful lot of onion, but once it was cooked it tasted great. Because the feast was at lunch time, I made this the night before and heated it the next day. If anything, I think it improved the flavor because it all had time to meld together. Just remember to factor in extra baking time if you do this. It really took quite a while for all that cold stuffing to heat up. However, it would be nice to be able to make this the night before Thanksgiving and just heat it up on Thanksgiving, leaving more time for all those other dishes that need your attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States