Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I am not a big fan of cranberry sauce, but my family likes it, so... it has to be done. I just can't bring myself to try the can-shaped thing, so I tried out this recipe a few years ago. It is pretty good, and family likes it, so it is a win. The only thing I do differently is that once the sugar is dissolved, I turn the heat very low, and let it cook slowly for about an hour. I check on it every 5-10 minutes or so, to stir and smoosh the cranberries. It's also one of those things you can make a few days ahead, to alleviate the cooking load on the actual holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
You can achieve kid-approved (and can-shaped cranberry jelly loving in-laws) homemade cranberry sauce with this recipe by simply straining the cooked sauce through a strainer while hot, pressing the pulp to be sure to get everything (I strain it into my serving dish and refrigerate overnight). It comes out perfect EVERY time, and I've been making this recipe for 4 years. A couple of tips: you must cook this way past the "popping stage" to achieve a smooth and jelled sauce. Cook until the sauce becomes dark red through and through and begins to thicken on its own. I also add about a 1/4 cup more sugar to cut the tartness for my kids. The first year I made this, my mother-in-law still brought a can of cranberry sauce thinking she and my father-in-law wouldn't like it, but it was a hit. No more can-shaped cranberry jelly at our Thanksgiving table! (I've also doubled the recipe and at times added the Grand Mariner - perfect and delish!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
So simple, and SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrisDee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I hate cranberry anything--especially canned cranberry sauce. Yuck! But this is the second year that I have made this recipe and it is so yummy. I used a 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and added a splash of water to the orange juice. I cooked it for about 15 minutes and it thickened up perfectly. For a person who has never liked cranberry sauce--I love this. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I have the recipe with a slight change. Instead of orange juice I use a whole tangerine cut in half and then halved again into quarters. I take out all seeds and put this with the cranberries in a pan and add a little water and 3/4 cup sugar. Mix well. Cook on med./low until the cranberries are very soft and popping. I then remove the tangerine quarters and squeeze the remain juice into the sauce. Works every time. Quick and flavorful. No more canned for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
I added one thing - a pealed diced apple. I cut back on white sugar and used some brown sugar. I add slowly as the cooking progresses - to taste. My 80 year old mother says she has never had better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
Best cranberry sauce ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
O.M.G. Fantabulous!!! I made this for my guests who like cranberry sauce with their turkey (thinking I wasn't going to touch it since I never like the canned cranberries)... Needles to say, I went for seconds and thirds... Wow... Party in my mouth. Do I have to wait till next November to make this?! Followed recipe to the T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I made this last year and I will be making it again this year. It was marvelous. I made the following adjustments: I reduced the white sugar down to 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also added in a bit of cinnamon at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I've used this recipes for several years. I squeeze oranges, add a little bit of peel, a pinch of clove and cinnamon. It is really good - so much better than the canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Adair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States