Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
Okay, after nearly 31 years of cooking, my search for the "definitive" cranberry sauce recipe is over! This recipe is fantastic!! I doubled it, split the sugar between half white and half brown and added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon (next time I will take that down to 1/4 teaspoon). I cooked this for almost 20 minutes. This was the best cranberry sauce I have ever had! I used to just resort to canned because I never seemed to be able to make a "good" cranberry sauce. Toni, thank you for sharing this recipe, it was another huge hit on our Thanksgiving table this past weekend. (We had to celebrate early this year.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
I mixed this recipe with another one I use. I boiled the cranberries and sugar in 1/2 cup OJ and 1/2 cup unsweetened pineapple juice until they popped. Then I added 6 oz. of fresh raspberries and mashed the whole thing. Finally, I added 1/4 cup grand marinier, a 14 oz. can of crushed pineapple (drained), and some crushed peacans. I cooked the mixture on medium heat until thickened, and refrigerated overnight. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
672 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
This is so good! I am a big fan of the canned jellied cranberry sauce, but now I am a convert. Never again will I buy cranberry sauce, I will always make it. This was so easy to make...and SO DELICIOUS! And yes,cranberries do pop when boiled, so put the splatter guard on and let the kids listen. I let them cook longer than 10 minutes just so it would get a little thicker, but after it is cooled it does thicken up more. While they were boiling I gave them a good mash or two with my potato masher and the consistency was perfect. Thank you Toni!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I made this recipe this Thanksgiving, but changed it slightly. I added about 1 tsp grated orange rind and after the berrys were cooked down I added about 1/8 cup of Grand Marinier. Not too many of my family like cranberries in any shape for form, but my nephew ( 13 years old ) loved it and asked to take some home. I loved it and even put it on top of my oatmeal the next morning. The juice was wonderful. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I was frantic for a quick and easy recipe as my other cranberry did not turn out as expected. I chose this one. As most of the reviewers pointed out, this was runny, but the flavor was great and the color was beautiful. Adding a touch of grand marnier is ingenious. If you want a more gelled sauce, simply cut the OJ to 1/2 cup! Once they start popping mash them with the back of a spoon. This will gel in just a few hours in the fridge. As it is, it is more of a delicious cranberry preserve - very spreadable for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
Great recipe. If you like it on the thick side like me I would recommend cooking it a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
To give it a little more flavour I added only 3/4 of a cup of orange juice and after it was cooked I added 1/4 cup of Grand Marnier. MMMMMMMMMMMMMM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
At Thanksgiving, my 70 year old father said this was "just like mom used to make". It doesn't get any better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This recipe was really tasty! I cooked it until most of the cranberries popped, and mashed it up a bit and left them in, and it was fantastic! Thank you :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Danvers, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Delicious! I will never buy canned sauce again. This was sooooo easy and sooooo tasty. Get ready for compliments when you make this simple dish. I used frozen cranberries that had been thawed. I also poured mine into a blender and pulsed it 3 times and then chilled it in the fridge. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by spidermonkey555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States