Cranberry Sauce with Bourbon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This has always been one of my favorites. Sometimes I cut the sugar to 3 cups for a slightly tarter flavor. Also works with brandy if you're out of bourbon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Good flavor, but too runny for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kesih

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riner, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used half the sugar, some brown sugar (combine less than 2 c, and washed pecans. Very popular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Love this recipe. It is SO easy and delish! Like the author suggests, it definitely tastes better if it "ages" for a week or two, but don't expect to have much left at that point. I used 2 cups white sugar and 1 cup dark brown (adds a little richness to the color). It is great on toast, turkey sandwiches, etc. Warning - your whole house will smell like bourbon while this cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Wolfrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
It was way too sweet for us (family). But, I loved the flavor, and the ease! So, I am going to try it with less white sugar and some of suggestions from the other reviews. Will let you know the changes I make and the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Bourbon & cranberry converted my mother. My mother swears by and only eats canned cranberry. I used a variation of this recipe and now she makes my version every year. Actually the whole family has stolen it... I used 1 package of fresh cranberry, 1-1/4C of sugar and 1/4C (or more) of bourbon. Since it is usually Thanksgiving, I sprinkle some nutmeg and cinnamon in too. Super easy to make, the house smells great and even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Tried this recipe last year for a nicer version of cranberries versus opening a can.. Everyone loved it. I am back again to make sure I had the recipe correct. This is the new go-to for cranberries !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States