Cranberry Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This stuff stinks when cooking but tastes great! Don't worry about the smell as it cooks! It kind of smells like rotten fruit cooking in OJ. It is a real funky smell but like I said it tastes super sweet and delicious! I used 1 bag of Oceanspray cranberries, 1 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup water, and 1/2 cup OJ. I think a full cup of OJ would have been too strong tasting on the orange side. 1/2 cup was the perfect blend of sweet and tart! I also let it cook for 20 minutes. Any less and the cranberries were not even popped all the way through. The sauce gets thicker the longer it simmers on the stove. It turns a deeper color red too the longer you cook it! Mahalo for the perfect Thanksgiving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
If I knew cooking cranberry sauce was this easy I would have never bought any from the store. It turned out great. Thanks for all the other ideas. I will have to try some of the other ideas next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Never Have Been a crandberry lover...then my mother found a recipe that was perfect. She made it and I ate it!!! Well that was so many years ago...she died and I never got the recipe from her. BUT I remember one ingredeint and that was the orange juice. Guess what this one calls for? That's right orange juice. I made it and it was a big hit (more so than the turkey)! I will be of course making it for this Thanskgiving and here on end. (the only problem is that the three stores we went to were all out of fresh cranberries. Could it be the public has discovered the seacred??? LOL. There is one tip I need to pass on... make it two days ahead of time so the orange juice can mix with the cranberries...a match made in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Great!!!! also try adding a little bit of rum and cinnamon! So excited that I didnt have canned cranberry sauce this year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I am always thrilled and eager to try a recipe thats straight to the point!! 3 ingredients, YES!!! When I read the recipe I was hoping for a similar sauce to the honey baked ham company's orange walnut cranberry sauce, so i added a cup of chopped walnuts(keep them big, not too small) and it was pretty much a dead ringer from what I remember!! Super easy recipe, very delicious, I had no issues with the "gelling", I read one review about someone using a potato masher, not necessary. I used the plastic spoon(one safe for cooking with) that I was using to stir the ingredients with,I just took the back of the spoon and mashed it up, but not entirely, its nice to have some chunky cranberries in there, but you could easily mash it all if desired!!! THANK YOU THANK YOU!!! Next time I will try using half brown sugar half white like another reviewer suggested, and maybe the grand marnier, but this recipe rocks as is. Also I used a no pulp OJ, not sure if anyone has tried it with pulp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
It was the first time I've ever made cranberry sauce. It was simple, easy, and delicious. I can't wait for my family to try it on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I love this recipe! so tasty and soooo easy to make and its a must have during a holiday meal. I didnt change anything to the recipe as it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is a great base recipe. My family has made this for years. We always add some of the orange pulp, also drop 4 whole cloves in for the cooking and remove when done. Also add about 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. We always double this recipe too. A single batch just isn't enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Perfect recipe! I read the other reviews and decided to add 1/4 tsp cinnamon and 1/8 tsp nutmeg. I'm not big on nutmeg so I went with half of what everybody else said. I don't like cranberries so my daughter (a high school culinary student) reviewed the end results. She said: "The cinnamon stands out but not over-kill. Its tart, tangy, and not too sweet, but I like sweet stuff. The cranberries gives it a great texture instead of the can version that just mushes in your mouth. There is a great after taste too. All the flavors came together in perfect harmony."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This was amazing I did do half brown sugar/white sugar. It was so good I couldn't choose what i wanted to dip the turkey in...had to double dip. Will defiantly make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States