Cranberry Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this for thanksgiving and it was way to tart for my taste and the orange juice over powered it. Will try a different recipe next time....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Oh my yumminess! I will NEVER buy canned, packaged or prepared cranberry sauce again. This was fantastic. I had no idea making cranberry sauce was this easy. The orange juice is the perfect compliment to the cranberries. (I've noticed many recipes calling for orange zest rather than orange juice.) Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I will never purchase cranberry sauce again! I squeezed fresh oranges for the juice and added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. We used the small amount of leftover cranberry sauce as a spread on homemade yeast rolls. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was really good. I think my next round will be better. Very tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe is awesome!! SUPER simple, and this is coming from someone who never previously attempted making cranberry sauce nor ever even watched it being done. So I had no idea what it was like and it still came out fabulously. It's so good I will make it year round! The only changes I made were to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. The addition of the brown sugar gives it a yummy taste. I also put it in the blender for a smoother texture. It's not too sweet, not too tart. Just perfectly in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This one surprised me and wasn't as thick as I would have liked, great flavor poor consistence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this at Thanksgiving, and it was fantastic, but I made a few changes. I'm not a fan of cranberries, so I substituted blueberries. Then, I thought the orange might overpower them, so I used water, and just a couple of squeezes of lemon juice. I changed the sugar to 1/2c white, 1/4c dark brown, 1/4c light brown. Then, I added 3 whole cloves while it simmered and removed them after finished. Since blueberry sauce doesn't really go with a bite of turkey so well, I decided to cool the mixture and used it to top a vanilla ice cream pie - spread softened vanilla ice cream into a graham cracker crust, then top with this recipe (with modifications) and freeze. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this once before and followed the directions exactly. The result was good enough that I decided to use the recipe again with a couple of alterations. The base recipe is certainly worthy of 4 stars, but with the changes, it's easily 5. The second time around I used half brown sugar and half white, reduced the liquid to 3/4 cup (1/2 cup OJ and 1/4 cup water), added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and simmered for 15 minutes. This sauce is great as a sandwich spread, too. Take a couple slices of sourdough, spread both sides with the sauce, top with some leftover turkey breast, a couple slices of bacon and a slice of swiss. Grill the sandwich until golden and cheese is melted. This makes an awesome turkey melt! Will certainly be using this recipe every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this with a half cup of orange marmelade instead of the sugar. Could add more for added sweetness, I like it tart. So easy and good. Compliments the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
never gelled for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States