Cranberry Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I will never purchase cranberry sauce again! I squeezed fresh oranges for the juice and added 1/4 tsp. cinnamon. We used the small amount of leftover cranberry sauce as a spread on homemade yeast rolls. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was really good. I think my next round will be better. Very tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This recipe is awesome!! SUPER simple, and this is coming from someone who never previously attempted making cranberry sauce nor ever even watched it being done. So I had no idea what it was like and it still came out fabulously. It's so good I will make it year round! The only changes I made were to use 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. The addition of the brown sugar gives it a yummy taste. I also put it in the blender for a smoother texture. It's not too sweet, not too tart. Just perfectly in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This one surprised me and wasn't as thick as I would have liked, great flavor poor consistence
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I made this at Thanksgiving, and it was fantastic, but I made a few changes. I'm not a fan of cranberries, so I substituted blueberries. Then, I thought the orange might overpower them, so I used water, and just a couple of squeezes of lemon juice. I changed the sugar to 1/2c white, 1/4c dark brown, 1/4c light brown. Then, I added 3 whole cloves while it simmered and removed them after finished. Since blueberry sauce doesn't really go with a bite of turkey so well, I decided to cool the mixture and used it to top a vanilla ice cream pie - spread softened vanilla ice cream into a graham cracker crust, then top with this recipe (with modifications) and freeze. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I made this once before and followed the directions exactly. The result was good enough that I decided to use the recipe again with a couple of alterations. The base recipe is certainly worthy of 4 stars, but with the changes, it's easily 5. The second time around I used half brown sugar and half white, reduced the liquid to 3/4 cup (1/2 cup OJ and 1/4 cup water), added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and simmered for 15 minutes. This sauce is great as a sandwich spread, too. Take a couple slices of sourdough, spread both sides with the sauce, top with some leftover turkey breast, a couple slices of bacon and a slice of swiss. Grill the sandwich until golden and cheese is melted. This makes an awesome turkey melt! Will certainly be using this recipe every holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
I made this with a half cup of orange marmelade instead of the sugar. Could add more for added sweetness, I like it tart. So easy and good. Compliments the orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
never gelled for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I tried this recipe Thanksgiving and it was a hit everyone enjoyed the flavor and they were looking for more this is a holiday keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Good simple recipe, my family loved it. I continued to cook it for a few minutes after all of the berries popped and a good portion of the liquid evaporated in the pan. Then I cooled it in the fridge for an hour to let it set. When it was time to serve, I pulled it out and gave it a god stir for a more fluid consistency (it became jelly as it sat in the the fridge) .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina Lairs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 758) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States