Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Literally the BEST cranberry sauce EVER. You will never again buy the canned kind. I followed the recipe to a T, except that I substituted one small can of mandarine orange slices instead of one orange. It made prep super easy. For the dried fruit, I used the Sunmaid bits of fruit that include raisins, prunes, cherries and apricots. Everyone at our Thanksgiving dinner loved this sauce. My mother asked for seconds and thirds! The recipe makes a TON, but it lasts in the fridge and only gets better as the flavors blend. I found myself craving it by the spoonful the days following Thanksgiving, so I would heat a few spoonfulls in the microwave until it was warm and ate it right out of the bowl. I am still eating it with cream cheese on bagels for breakfast every morning! This one will be a staple at my holiday table every year! The best way to describe it is that it tastes like "fall." The yummy fall spices make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
388 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
Doesn't look like the picture at all....just fyi. I liked the recipe, it was more like a fruity dessert than a cranberry sauce, which was actually nice since some people don't like Cranberry sauce. I would recommend that you half the sugar, cook the cranberries in a different pot, put the remaining pot of fruit in a food processor after cooked and then add the cranberries after processing. This would give it more of a "cranberry dish" feel. It is very tasty, but make sure to half the sugar....the fruit was more than enough sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
347 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
I made this in the crockpot overnight on the low setting. Couldn't have been easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
FANTASTIC. I substituted Splenda for all but a tablespoon of the sugar for my diabetic guest, a former chef. He thought this was the most incredible cranberry sauce/chutney ever, and is now requested for all future thanksgivings. I don't care for regular cranberry sauce, but this was quite nice. I used about 1/2 the nuts called for, dried cranberries, cherries, and apricots, a whole (small) pear with a 1/2 an apple, and added a pinch of ginger and some allspice in addition to the cinnamon. The house smelled wonderful, and it tasted just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St. Louis Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Use Food Processor! So much easier!!! I put fruits and nuts one at a time in food processor then after cooking processed again to get that pretty red color back. I added an extra orange and used dried apricots which threw off the color but cut the tart flavor and were FABULOUS! The pecans make this absolutely irresistable. Serving suggestion: on bagel, toast or crackers with cream cheese! Its awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
I used to hate cranberry sauce but not any more. I've been making this for thanksgiving and Christmas for 2 years now and I "ALWAYS" get compliments on this dish. I leave out the nuts, used a can of mandarin orange instead of orange and been trying different kinds of dried fruit like tropical fruit mixes (coconut, mango, pineapple, etc.) It always turns out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What's for dinner mom?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This was a good cranberry sauce. I used the same recipe, except using splenda instead of sugar and left out the dried fruit. I also did not peel the fruit (except the orange of course!) and did not find that to affect the final product except the time it saved me. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was a wonderful change from traditional cranberry sauces. It also was easy to make. I froze some for later and that worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
Very good. My pear was not quite ripe, and I used dried cranberries as fruit bits so I added a bit more sugar. Next time I will add a mix of dried diced apples, currants, cranberries, and blueberries - and make sure my pear is RIPE! I also left the pecans in halves in case the diner wanted to pick them out. Leftovers were spooned into pre-baked shortbread tart shells and eaten with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2002
Fantastic! I made this twice over the Thanksgiving holiday and it was well received both times. I used 1/2 cup dried cherries and 1/2 cup dried apricots for the dried fruit. The second time I made the sauce I added slightly more than 1 cup sugar, and I thought it tasted even better. This will be our new cranberry sauce tradition. Thank you for this delicious sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States