Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! This cranberry sauce is so easy to make. I omit the dried mixed fruit as I prefer all fresh fruit in my sauce, also I don't always add chopped pecans due to food allergies. I have also added pineapple to this sauce in years past and it adds a nice tropical twist. My family requests this side dish annually for Thanksgiving and Christmas. This past year we tried putting some warmed cranberry sauce over vanilla ice cream for dessert and found it heavenly! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I made this for Christmas and thought it turned out great! It looked like the picture and tasted wonderful, however the large group I made it for didn't like it. Guess they are still stuck on the Canned Cranberry tradition. Maybe a good idea to introduce this to the traditional types by providing both styles! I give it 5 stars for thinking outside the box or in this case....the can!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coldbluegrace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Ok, this is absolutely THE VERY BEST AND MOST AMAZING cranberry sauce I have ever tasted, bar none. My DD has been making this (by popular demand) for special occasions for family gatherings over the last year, and I finally got the recipe from her so that I can make it, too. I have used this in and on everything from roast chicken/turkey, fish, filet mignon, and chicken stew (yes - added in just before serving!), all the way to sneaking into the refrigerator to snack on it like a leftover dessert (ooo la la - so very yummy!). I promise, this won't disappoint and rivals the best of the best. Pookie, I'm still going to be asking you to bring along this favorite, any time your precious hands are willing to make it! (And I love your special touch with what you do with the pecans!) Love you for having found this gem! xoxo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
This is also fantastic with a touch of honey when you want it a little sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
MADE IT TO SERVE OVER A ROAST PORK LOIN. AMAZING!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was far too tart for my sweet tooth. I added another 1/2c. of sugar, a 1/4c. of orange juice and a 1/4 c. of sherry. I didn't put in the dried fruit, either because I'm not a fan. I let it simmer for about 15 minutes more uncovered to reduce the sauce down because my additions made it soupy. I customized it to fit my sweet needs and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I just finished my first batch ever, only having been sampled by my wife and I but our two party jury has deliberated...this recipe is GUILTY of being the best cranberry sauce either of us has ever had! Some changes of note: I used half a cup of orange mango juice instead of water. Partly because of previous reviews stating the sauce tended to be a bit watery, but also because I substituted a cup of fresh raspberries and a cup of fresh blackberries for dried fruit. Also the reason I used a quarter of the suggested sugar. Instead of a fresh orange I used canned mandarin orange. I added a quarter cup of cognac and cut back on the spices by half while adding a 1/4 tsp of Chinese five spice. Cooking temp was a little higher to boil off some extra liquid. Turned out magnificent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was easy to make and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Excellent....Blows away straight cooked cranberries...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
Family members who don't usually care for cranberries have had second helpings of this dish. I've made this as per the recipe, and it is great. The second time I made it, I added finely zested orange peel and substituted 1 teaspoon of Chinese 5-spice (cinnamon, cloves, anise, ginger, pepper) for the cinnamon. Both added interesting flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 453) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States