Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I've made this a couple times now and it is good but tedious considering it is just cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Going to have to give this one another try seeing as I confused dried mixed fruit with candied fruit. Just a note though, if your even thinking of using candied fruit….. even by mistake, DON'T! Feel free to laugh amongst yourselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrdodd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parker City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Daleville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would! So delicious. Tried making it with half the sugar as suggested in some of the reviews, but it was way too tart, so I ended up adding the rest that the recipe calls for, and it was perfect. Not too sweet. I used a tropical fruit mix and it was great. The pecans make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This one was a Thanksgiving surprise! So simple to make and all of our guests, even the kids, raved and raved! Personally, I am accustomed to cranberry sauce being a tad tart; whereas this recipe turned out so sweet that it had a "candied" taste to it. It is definitely a keeper, but I'll try less sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and we all loved it! I did not add the pear or dried fruit, but it still turned out great! I will make this each year for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This cranberry sauce is excellent. It was a big hit at dinner last night and will surely become one of our new traditions with turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Excellent, I had to add a little more water as it cooked. I had to use a spoon to pop about 10 of the berries. But this is excellent!!! I'll never by store prepared again...This is a winner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vermont, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Love this recipe- Make it every year! I am however, very bad about measuring. I did measure the sugar and water(my son has Type 1 Diabetes and we need to keep track of carbs!) This year I used a bag of cranberries I have thrown in the freezer a couple months ago, as well as a handful of frozen blueberries we had picked this summer. Dried fruit was mostly apricots and prunes that I diced up. That's the GREAT thing about this, you can play with what fruit you put in, and how much and it ALWAYS turns out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is absolutely delicious!!! I made it exactly as written minus the pecans because I'm allergic. I made it tonight because Thanksgiving is in the morning, and I could not believe it was so delicious I was sneaking bites by the spoonful. It makes a big bowl full so there will be plenty, but I NEVER eat cranberry sauce, so me eating it by the spoonful says a lot!!!! This will be my recipe from now on. Thank You so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aubandkendylsma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I have never written a review on here, but signed up to comment on this. I do not even like cranberries...at all. By themselves, sauce, juice... but I knew there had to be a way to make them delicious. I literally googled "cranberry sauce for people that don't like cranberry sauce" and stumbled on this recipe. The 400+ reviews told me this was it. SO easy and SO delicious! I decided it did sound like something that would be better the next day after the flavors merry, so that's what I am doing. It was WONDERFUL tonight, so it can only get better for tomorrow. I followed the recipe except I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar in addition to the cup of white sugar, and I did not add any dried fruit because I was so puzzled at the store about which dried fruit to buy. I also used 1 small can of mandarin oranges instead of a whole orange. I blended the oranges to a pulp. None of the combinations of packaged dried fruits sounded good in this, and let me tell ya, this is NOT lacking. So cinnamon-y... I read on here some people used less sugar, there is no way I would use less sugar next time. Its perfect. Still a little tart, but more sweet than tart. The side by side picture I posted is when I first put it in the pan on the left (beautiful that way too...) and on the right is the completed sauce. I did need to cook it a little more than 30 minutes because it needed to cook down some. This will definitely be a new holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States