Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is excellent as is. I used as dried fruit cherries, apricots, and plums and added brandy. I toasted pecans and used them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I've been searching for years for a really good cranberry sauce from scratch. One that is not to bitter. This is it! this was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving this year! It does make quite a lot, but I pre-froze portions and then put in vacuum sealed freezer bags. My pear unfortunately went bad so had to improvise and used 2 single serving sized cups of strawberry applesauce. This was the only change I made. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did not have orange but used a juiced lime instead. I left out the nutmeg and used dried cranberries fir the dried fruit cause that is all I had. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was excellent. The key to getting it to look like the picture is cook it until ALL the cranberries burst, simmer for a while, it takes longer than 30 minutes to get it exactly. Also the fresh orange was not juicy and sweet so I added a can of 15oz mandarin oranges and I added CANDIED/GLAZED pecans instead of plain pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mary_o
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving '14 and it was good, but didn't measure up to expectations based on the rave reviews. Mine was kinda tart. I realize that is most likely a function of the ingredients, namely the cranberries I used, but nonetheless... METHOD: I doubled the recipe and used fresh cranberries, bosc pears, gala apples and 1 small can of mandarin oranges and 1 fresh orange. The dried fruits came from the Whole Foods bulk section - a mix of blueberries, currants, raisins, cherries and a tiny smidge of sweetened cranberries. I chose not to add nuts. I did reduce it down longer than the recipe called for, as my preference was for a thicker consistency, but other than the mandarin oranges and reducing down part, kept true to the recipe. SERVING: poured it over cream cheese (yum!) for an appetizer and served the sauce on the table for our meal. TASTE: While it was tasty, it didn't wow me, so I'd give it a 3.5 - 4 star rating. Probably closer to a 3.5 as a stand-alone side and a 4.5 on top of cream cheese, after all, doesn't cream cheese make anything taste good? ;-) I will try this again because I have confidence it the recipe, but will monitor and adjust sugar up or down according to my taste. Still...a heck of a lot better than canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
So I have never tried making cranberry sauce from scratch before, not only was this easy it was amazing. I forgot to get the dried fruit, so i put in dried cranberries, adjusted the sugar to taste. It was amazing and my best friend said I should make a new batch every week just because its so good, we used it as our sauce and over cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
A simple and easy recipe, this is a great change from the traditional boiled sauce. Like several other reviewers, I used Splenda instead of sugar, as so many Thanksgiving dishes are candied or sweetened -- sugar overload! -- and the artificial sweetener worked out perfectly. This recipe is a keeper for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Welker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This cranberry sauce was amazingly good. I left out the pear and substituted a small can or mandarin oranges in place of a fresh orange. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I didn't Include the pecans or dried fruit but it is AMAZING! My teenager keeps going back and nibbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I served this cranberry sauce this Thanksgiving and I served it over goat cheese and then served the sauce along with dinner and it was a hit. Everyone wanted the recipe. I was already ask to bring this to New Years Eve served on the goat cheese. Those 2 are a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 490) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States