Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Love this recipe! I've made it for a few years now at the holidays and it's a huge hit with my entire family. I also serve it over brie as an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
This is excellent as is. I used as dried fruit cherries, apricots, and plums and added brandy. I toasted pecans and used them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I've been searching for years for a really good cranberry sauce from scratch. One that is not to bitter. This is it! this was a huge hit at our Thanksgiving this year! It does make quite a lot, but I pre-froze portions and then put in vacuum sealed freezer bags. My pear unfortunately went bad so had to improvise and used 2 single serving sized cups of strawberry applesauce. This was the only change I made. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I did not have orange but used a juiced lime instead. I left out the nutmeg and used dried cranberries fir the dried fruit cause that is all I had. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
This was excellent. The key to getting it to look like the picture is cook it until ALL the cranberries burst, simmer for a while, it takes longer than 30 minutes to get it exactly. Also the fresh orange was not juicy and sweet so I added a can of 15oz mandarin oranges and I added CANDIED/GLAZED pecans instead of plain pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mary_o
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I made this for Thanksgiving '14 and it was good, but didn't measure up to expectations based on the rave reviews. Mine was kinda tart. I realize that is most likely a function of the ingredients, namely the cranberries I used, but nonetheless... METHOD: I doubled the recipe and used fresh cranberries, bosc pears, gala apples and 1 small can of mandarin oranges and 1 fresh orange. The dried fruits came from the Whole Foods bulk section - a mix of blueberries, currants, raisins, cherries and a tiny smidge of sweetened cranberries. I chose not to add nuts. I did reduce it down longer than the recipe called for, as my preference was for a thicker consistency, but other than the mandarin oranges and reducing down part, kept true to the recipe. SERVING: poured it over cream cheese (yum!) for an appetizer and served the sauce on the table for our meal. TASTE: While it was tasty, it didn't wow me, so I'd give it a 3.5 - 4 star rating. Probably closer to a 3.5 as a stand-alone side and a 4.5 on top of cream cheese, after all, doesn't cream cheese make anything taste good? ;-) I will try this again because I have confidence it the recipe, but will monitor and adjust sugar up or down according to my taste. Still...a heck of a lot better than canned stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary_o

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
So I have never tried making cranberry sauce from scratch before, not only was this easy it was amazing. I forgot to get the dried fruit, so i put in dried cranberries, adjusted the sugar to taste. It was amazing and my best friend said I should make a new batch every week just because its so good, we used it as our sauce and over cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
A simple and easy recipe, this is a great change from the traditional boiled sauce. Like several other reviewers, I used Splenda instead of sugar, as so many Thanksgiving dishes are candied or sweetened -- sugar overload! -- and the artificial sweetener worked out perfectly. This recipe is a keeper for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Welker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SugarPlum♥
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
This cranberry sauce was amazingly good. I left out the pear and substituted a small can or mandarin oranges in place of a fresh orange. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarPlum♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I didn't Include the pecans or dried fruit but it is AMAZING! My teenager keeps going back and nibbling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 491) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States