Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I would like to try this recipe using crushed pineapples instead of the pear. Has anyone tried using pineapple or not used the pear?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I have used this recipe for years and anyone who eats it thinks it rocks.... try it this Thanksgiving...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was so good. The only thing I'll change next time I make it (and there will be a next time; I'll never look for another cranberry sauce recipe again!) will be to soak the dried fruit in brandy before adding it. That's the only thing I missed from my previous cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is by far the best cranberry mixture I have ever had the pleasure of making and eating. The difference in this recipe is that there are all kinds of things. The "purist" cranberries (ie. cranberries, orange juice and sugar) are still wonderful, don't get me wrong! But to have such a decadent and surprising change will thrill your guests (if you are cooking for a party)! There are those who will always hate cranberries, but those who just "didn't care for them" before fall in love with them after this recipe. Try it out, and don;t be afraid to mix it up a bit with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Philip

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Plains, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Outstanding!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Followed the recipe mostly, however I used 13.5 oz (3 cups) of fresh picked low-bush cranberries, 1 granny smith apple, 1 bosch pear, 1 purreed navel orange, no nuts (lethal allergies in the family), and currants for the dried fruit (since that's all we had). The cinnamon was a little overpowering, and I added 2 pinches of ground cloves, a pinch of ground ginger, and a pinch of mace to even out the flavour. At first I was scared that the sauce was too sweet, but after the cranberries burst it turned into a perfect tart-sweet combination and a beautiful deep red-burgandy colour. Bonus: The currants plumped up and looked like little cranberries. Everyone loved it! Even the anti-cranberry sauce folks! The bf covered a third of his plate with a helping of this on it's own. The recipe yielded so much that we are using the rest for a cheesecake topping later this week. Love the versatility of the recipe! Next time will omit salt (not needed), maybe try some orange zest, play around with maple syrup instead of sugar, try using anjou pear, and only use a pinch of cinnamon, nutmeg and the spices used above. I'll also try some batches with nuts when my mom isn't around, and one without spices at all for comparison. This will be a year-round recipe. Thanks! I noticed a lot of comments regarding too sweet or too tart, which does come from the type of dried fruit used as mentioned, but can also be affected by the fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I wish someone in their review had stated this recipe tasted a lot like mincemeat and nothing like cranberry sauce. I'm not impressed neither was anyone in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've been looking for years for a really outstanding cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving dinner. I think I finally found a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coplay, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Slatington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This is the BEST recipe I have found for cranberries. I've made it for 2 yrs in a row for Thanksgiving. It is an absolute hit !!! Wish I could give more than just 5 stars :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This really is phenomenal. I made this for my husband's Thanksgiving pot luck lunch at work. The only downside is that it is very sweet, so there were a lot of leftovers (which I was able to freeze and reuse later).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States