Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by aubandkendylsma
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this tonight for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I have never written a review on here, but signed up to comment on this. I do not even like cranberries...at all. By themselves, sauce, juice... but I knew there had to be a way to make them delicious. I literally googled "cranberry sauce for people that don't like cranberry sauce" and stumbled on this recipe. The 400+ reviews told me this was it. SO easy and SO delicious! I decided it did sound like something that would be better the next day after the flavors merry, so that's what I am doing. It was WONDERFUL tonight, so it can only get better for tomorrow. I followed the recipe except I added about 1/4 cup brown sugar in addition to the cup of white sugar, and I did not add any dried fruit because I was so puzzled at the store about which dried fruit to buy. I also used 1 small can of mandarin oranges instead of a whole orange. I blended the oranges to a pulp. None of the combinations of packaged dried fruits sounded good in this, and let me tell ya, this is NOT lacking. So cinnamon-y... I read on here some people used less sugar, there is no way I would use less sugar next time. Its perfect. Still a little tart, but more sweet than tart. The side by side picture I posted is when I first put it in the pan on the left (beautiful that way too...) and on the right is the completed sauce. I did need to cook it a little more than 30 minutes because it needed to cook down some. This will definitely be a new holiday staple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
It definitely lives up to its name! I'll never use canned cranberry sauce again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
More fruity than cranberry... though I'm sure it tastes delicious served with meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I have been making this cranberry sauce since 2004! It's that good! My guests loved that it had more texture than traditional cranberry sauce. Everytime I make it I receive tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This is fantastic. My sister in law who doesn't care a lot for cranberries always request this for Thanksgiving. It has a great mix of flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I used a mix of cherries, cranberries, blueberries and golden raisins for the dried fruit, which was great. The blueberries added a nice bit of color. This was delicious, and even better the next day. I thought there was a bit too much cinnamon when I tried it before it had completely cooled, but by the next morning was perfectly spiced. I had it for breakfast! Update: Very adaptable to what you've got on hand. For my second batch, I was out of pears, so I used fresh pineapple and rather than peeling and processing an orange, I used mandarin oranges. Turned out great! I topped a bagel with cream cheese and this cranberry sauce, which made an incredibly good breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
Simple and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Everyone's favorite. It's super yummy in plain yogurt too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Good but on the orangey tangy tasting side. Will try with just water next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Will never use a can of cranberry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 452) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Cranberry Sauce

Make this easy, crowd-pleasing cranberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States