Cranberry Sauce Extraordinaire Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I'm rating the "idea" of this recipe. I had to work with what I had which was - 1/2 a 12 oz bag of fresh crans, 1 can of whole cran sauce. I sm can of mandarin oranges & sm can of pears. I drained the mandarin juice into the fresh cranberries (with a splash of water) and added my peeled diced apple. Used fresh grated nutmeg & cinammon. After that cooked I pureed with a stick blender. I cut the mandarin oranges in half, diced up the drained canned pears and added that along with more cinnamon and a tsp of fresh ginger and ground coriander. Added the can of whole cranberries. Mixed all that up on the stovetop and let it simmer for 10 minutes. I think using the juice from mandarin oranges along with the canned pears & the apple; gave it plenty sweet. Oh...I added 1/4 C of golden raisins during initial cooking before pureed. No other dried fruit was used in my rendition. Anyway, was a great starting point that you can toy with. Love the spices in it! I found it tasted even better sitting it the fridge overnight. I gotta try this on some cream cheese with a bagel, that sounds really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I made this much like the recipe, though omitting the pear. Plus, because I didn't have the mixed fruit, I used raisins and chopped apricots as a substitute. And, I diced the peeled orange instead of pureeing it. However, I thought it turned out nasty - much too mushy. I was hoping for a Cranberry Sauce I had made in the past that was chunky and very tasty. No one took any of mine, at a family Thanksgiving Dinner, so I brought it home, probably to eventually dump. Guess I'll keep looking for the one I really want. Thanks anyway. I'm sure many will enjoy this version of a holiday Cranberry Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was great. If you like cranberries then this dish is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
At first taste I wasn't convinced since this sauce doesn't have a strong cranberry flavor. However, it won rave reviews at Thanksgiving and the leftovers made the yummiest topping for French pancakes. I plan to keep this for future Thanksgivings. For dried fruit I used apricots, cherries and golden raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
So delicious! I woke up craving it the day after Thanksgiving, so i had it on my toast with cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
This was the first from scratch cranberry sauce I ever made, and I will make it from now on. My whole family loved it, even my husband, who usually can't stand cranberry sauce. I followed the recipe pretty closely, except that I left out the nuts and used orange juice instead of lemon. It was perfect, not to sweet and not to sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
so good - it is an every holiday dish for me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaumont, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I joined the site to review this recipe. You'll never buy a can of cranberry sauce again. You'll make this all winter long. It's that good. And it's simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I put a dash of Grand Marnier to it. OMG! It was delicious. I put some over cream cheese and served with crackers and it was gone before you knew it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chrystal Jensen Utley
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
this really is some great cranberry sauce! but it does make A LOT!! i used just a bag of trail mix from the dollar store, it didnt have nuts just dried fruit and that way it was a lot cheaper than going to the bulk bins. i got a lot of different dried fruits in the one bag and it was only $1! i didnt peel the apple or pear, i just cut them into chunks, i didnt have any skins clinging to the back of my throat and it saved a lot of time. also instead of using a pureed orange, i just dumped the whole can of mandorin orange slices in with the juice and halved the sugar. i had to add about 3 tsp of flour to thicken it up though because of the added juice! like most of the other reviewers, i have been eating it on everything, and by the BOWL FULL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrystal Jensen Utley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Pear Cranberry Sauce

This incredibly flavorful cranberry sauce stars candied ginger and fresh pear.

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States