Cranberry Sauce Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
A keeper this will be as my dh just could not stop raving all during dinner as to how tasty this dish was. He thought the complete menu of Cranberry Sauce Chicken II, mashed potatoes from scratch, fresh corn on the cob, fresh made cranberry sauce from All Recipes, cole slaw, iced tea was great. But the star was the Cranberry Sauce Chicken II. We all enjoyed the surprise of a new chicken dish. I did not change a thing in this recipe. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs that were in the freezer from my supermarket when on sale. This is my first attempt at boneless, skinless chicken thighs. They were moist, fork tender and of course the flavor of the sauce was so yummy. The ingredients were strange, as others have commented, but the end results are well worth a recipe that I would recommend you try. Not only easy to prepare, but not a lot of attending to while baking. (Only to remove the foil the last part of baking and I do recommend this step.) I did use a thermometer for testing the internal temp to make sure they were done, as the sauce did make it difficult to check the juices running clear. Oh yes, I did use the whole cranberry sauce. Thank you Honda for sharring this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary C.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Yummy!! Very light, sweet and fruity. I used boneless/skinless chicken breasts, and a can of whole berry cranberry sauce; otherwise, I followed the instructions as written, and it came out perfect! There is plenty of sauce, so I suggest making rice as a side dish so you can pour some over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathie H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasco, Washington, USA
Living In: Richland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was very good! I put it all together after I sent DH into town so he would not see what went in it, otherwise he would not have eaten it ;) DH and Grandfather raved about how good it was and I very much enjoyed it. Love how ingredients that dont "go together" make such a very nice dish. I used chicken legs and served over white rice. Super yum will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Chicken breasts are really tender and juicy with this marinade as well. I use whole cranberry sauce, 1 cup (8 oz.)of Russian, French, Catalina, Western type dressing, one envelope of onion soup mix (use good brand names)mix all and pour over chicken in pan, cover and let marinade at least 8 hours, uncover and bake 1/2 hour to 45 min. at 350 degrees until juices run clear and they are done. The sauce should get rich thick and brown and be just right. Serve with rice and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was surprisingly good! As the weather changed and we could not barbeque, I needed a recipe using 2 bone-in chicken breasts. Because I didn't have Russian dressing I substituted with 1/4 cup ketchup and 1/4 cup mayo as I was using only half the recipe. I put the cranberry mixture under the skin as well as on top. I cooked them for 1 hour in a stoneware rectangular baker with the lid on. They turned out to be the most juiciest, flavorful chicken breasts ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
We really liked this for something different. I used b/l s/l chicken breasts instead of the thighs, but kept the rest of the recipe exactly the same. The chicken came out very moist and flavorful. I will be making this again! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
This recipe was a little too soupy for me. I used 3/4 c of russian dressing and 9-not 6 chicken thighs. There was a lot of liquid. I recommend using more chicken or less dressing for the recipe. It was a little too "onion soup mix-ish" so I may cut back on that next time as well and use 1/2 envelope. My point is this recipe can be changed easily to suit your taste and still be great. My husband loved it. I served it with a side of kasha pilaf. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I loved how easy this was to make. Everyone loved the flavor. It did make a lot of sauce, so we served the sauce over mashed potatoes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom23boysn1girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
So easy, juicy, and flavorful. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Li

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
Even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States