Cranberry Salad IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is fantastic. I used the mini marshmallows - much easier than cutting the large ones. I had pineapple tidbits, so I used that instead of crushed and it was great. Will definitely make again. I liked much better than the jello types of cranberry salad. Great to take to a big group - it fills a large bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I tweaked this a lot, but I adored what I came up with in the end. I used 2 cups of ground fresh cranberries, a large can of crushed pineapple, and a large strained jar of mini mandarin oranges. I let it soak in 1 1/2 cups sugar for several hours, straining the juice as necessary. I also used whole mini marshmallows, and flavored my whipping cream with a toss of powdered sugar and some vanilla extract. The result was the perfect combination of tart and sweet. I loved it, and it went over well at Christmas. Will definitely make this again, five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SomeGeekyGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This is a recipe that my grandmother has made for 40+ years. Here are some helpful hints to make it even better. Start in the morning of the day before you want to serve. Crush the cranberries and mix with 1 1/2 cups sugar (my grandmother uses 2!! which is a bit much so I use 1 1/2) Mix together and let it rest all day. Drain the juice out at the end of the day and put it back in the fridge. Day of: Drain again, add marshmallows, a big can of crushed pineapple, and 2 cups red seedless grapes, halved. Then right before you want to serve whip the cream and add 1 cup whipped cream to the salad!! This makes it aaaaaaa-mazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon McLane

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Much to my dismay, I was asked to bring something *cranberry* to Thanksgiving dinner...visions of canned gelled cranberry and Jello molds danced through my head. I came here and searched and located this promising recipe, but I was still skeptical. However, it is wonderful! Easy to make and tastes great. A great way to add cranberries to the holiday meal. My mom has already requested this be an annual staple at our Thanksgiving table. THANKS! The only changes I made were to use fat free Cool Whip in place of the heavy cream and I added sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Easy to make and great to take to a pot luck!! I added a cup of chopped pecans for a change and LOVED IT!! People complimented on the flavor, texture of the salad and presentation to the Thanksgiving buffet!!! This will be a traditional salad that I will take again to a potluck!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I used this recipe for years with the mini marshmellows, but I also add 1 c. chopped pecans. I've had people that do not like cranberries at all eat this (before they knew what it was) and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Delicious. Even if you don't let the flavors blend together, this salad is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This recipe received rave reviews at Thanksgiving and I was asked to make it again for two Christmas dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I first made this 5 years ago and it has been requested every year by my extended family at holidays. Delicious!! Wonderful alternative to jello salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
We love this version of cranberry salad. My mothers family has made this for as long as I can remember--only with the substitution of halved green grapes and pecan pieces for the marshmallows and pineapple. Be careful no to puree the cranberries!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States