Cranberry Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I made this recipe for this past Thanksgiving, but I forgot to review it. I doubled the recipe but instead of using two packages of cherry jello, I used one cherry and one cranberry. Otherwise, I made it exactly according to the recipe. It was the hit of the Thanksgiving dinner. I didn't even think I liked whole cranberry sauce, but I've changed my mind after this recipe. My family has had gelatin salads at every holiday meal my entire life, and we all think this is the best one. My daughter asked me to make it for every holiday meal from now on. Since she loved it so much I'm going to make it for her birthday this week. I'll try making it lighter, using low-fat, sugar-free ingredients where possible. I'll let you know how it turns out. UPDATE: We loved it just as much this time around. In fact, my daughter has nicknamed it "edible paradise" and says she is addicted. Again I used one package of cherry gelatin and one package of cranberry gelatin. I also used fat-free cream cheese and sugar-free gelatin, and we couldn't really tell any difference in the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
Lot's of potential. I also found it way too sweet but it was good enough to make some notes to try again some time. This time I had a bag of cranberries leftover so I made whole cranberry sauce to add to the gelatin instead of the canned. I ended up adding a bit more of the juice to the cream cheese to make it a bit more spreadable and flavorful (total of about 1/2 c). I also used walnuts instead of peacans. Next time I will try one box of gelatin and half the crushed pineapple. One note.... it took a lot longer than 10 minutes for the first layer to firm up. Maybe that was because I used home made cranberry sauce, not sure, but it eventually firmed just fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I have made this the past two years for Christmas and Thanksgiving. No changes need to be made to the existing recipe. It's wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PERKY2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
A beautiful cranberry salad to display in a clear bowl. Many compliments around the table! Definitely a keeper! The first layer does take more than 10 minutes to set. I also used 1 box sugar free and 1 box sugared jello. Cream cheese center was a little hard to spread, but not a problem if you wait for first layer to really set (maybe 1/2 hour depending on bowl shape. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I made this today for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. What I liked best about it was it's something different. I followed the directions exactly and don't think I would change a thing. I put it an 8x8 clear square dish and it fit perfectly and looked nice. I would point out the recipe doesn't say to let the first layer set for 10 minutes as some have said. It says let the first layer set, then spread the cream cheese mixture over that and refrigerate THAT for 10 minutes before putting the rest of the jello mixture on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I made this for a Christmas party and it was a hit. I left out the pecans for any people who may have a nut allergy. Very tasty and very easy to make. Will be on the list of things to make for next year. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Essex, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2006
This recipe has gotten very good reviews, but I'm not sure why. I had high expectations after reading the reviews, but when I made it I discovered that it is little more than glorified Jell-O. If you like Jell-O you will like this salad, but if you want something a little more exciting than Jell-O - pick a different recipe! I made this for a dinner party and it was the only item that I did not get compliments on and my husband and I were eating the leftovers for a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I really like this recipe. It is a beautiful color and has a lovely, rich taste due to the cream cheese layer. I will probably take the advice below and add a bit more juice to the filling, however, to make it more spreadable. A real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This recipe was so good! The only thing I changed was to use a box of cherry jello and a box of raspberry instead of two cherries. This was completely finished off at our Thanksgiving meal. And that's saying something considering there was a TON of food with lots of choices. I'll definitely be making this again all year round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Be smart about this recipe, especially around the holidays. Make with sugar-free jello, Miracle Whip, and Low fat or fat free cream cheese. If you make it the way the recipe says, its nearly 400 calories a serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy on a Mission

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Jamie’s Cranberry Spinach Salad

Make a healthy spinach salad with a tangy, tasty vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States