Cranberry Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
I have made this for about 5 Thanksgivings now - people always want the recipe. This year I made 2 changes that I liked better. I used black cherry jello and thought it was much better than just regular cherry jello. Also, I used fresh cranberries instead of canned - only added about 5-10 minutes prep time. I just followed the recipe on the cranberry bag - 1 cup water/1 cup sugar & boiled. This made it so much better in my opinion. (But if you use canned, I recommend 2 cans, otherwise it tastes too much like cherry and not enough like cranberry.) The only down side to this recipe is the wait time while chilling the first layer, but it is well worth it and is always a big hit! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaphneB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was a nice alternative to plain cranberries! The only thing I did different was I used strawberry jello, no pecans & I added sliced bananas. I highly recomend adding the bananas. They make it even more interesting to look at + a nice flavor. Also, make sure the cream cheese is room temperature or soften it in the microwave about 20-30 seconds. It's easier to work with. This looked very elegant on the Thanksgiving table and will be apart of our holiday dinner for now on. Thanks Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
i must of made it wrong
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Been making this for years. Entire family loves it. We make it with sugar-free jello and use cherry/strawberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
This was a big hit at our house for christmas. Even those who don't like cranberries, liked this. There was none left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEODEB2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Only 2 out of 11 would try this at dinner despite the pretty appearance. I don't think that many people are fond of cranberries. It was quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
My family enjoyed it, but I was a little disappointed on how the cream cheese spread did not spread easily on top of the jello. I had to just mix the jello with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by summer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Washington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Best tasting cranberry dish I've ever had. Thanks! Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
I brought this salad to thanksgiving dinner...WOW! It was a big hit. I have even had family calling me for the recipe to take to their Christmas parties. It is an excellent dish if you are not much into cranberries! You get just enough taste of the cranberries. I added a little more pineapple juice, but besides that it was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
This cranberry salad was a complete HIT during Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it and had several sevings of it! My mouth is watering from thinking about it right NOW. Definitely going to be a tradition in my house from now on for EVERY thanksgiving dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States