Cranberry Salad III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
My girfriend makes a cranberry salad & I like very much. So I wanted to make it for a party I was invited to. I found this recipe. I had to make it for 20 people. They all loved it and my friend even said it was better than hers & she wanted my recipe. I am a diabetic so I used Wal-Mart brand sugar free RASPBERRY (instead of Cherry) jello to cut back on the sugar of the canned cranberries. I do not like Cherry jello, the raspberry was great. I also used walnuts instead as I do not like pecans. I also used the pineapple juice to thin the cream cheese instead of mayo so as to be able to spread it easier. I have been requested to make it again for a luncheon on this week. I only need to make it for 10 peolpe this time. This recipe is for sure on my most popular list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
This went over GREAT at our huge family get together. I put in an extra can of cranberries and left the rest of the recipe just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This is so good everyone loved it even my picky 2y old. It takes some time for the first layer to set, so don't make the cream cheese layer right away. Will make every thanksgiving! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I made this salad for Thanksgiving and everyone thought it was wonderful! Two of the guests said it was their favorite part of the meal. In the past I have been guilty of making reviewer-suggested changes to a recipe the first time I try it. This time I did not, and I'm glad I didn't. The recipe is perfect as is. I would suggest you make this recipe according to the original instructions before trying the suggestions for changes. I really did not think it was too sweet at all. It's like I expect a gelatin salad to be. If you make sure that the cream cheese is completely at room temperature and the gelatin is completely set, you will have no problem spreading the cream cheese. Also, the pineapple juice that you add to the cream cheese gives it the perfect amount of sweetness--no need to add Splenda. I have tried many different gelatin salad recipes, but I think this will be the only salad I make for future Thanksgivings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I have to say that this recipe has been made for many of my family functions and it is always a big hit. The combination is something I would have never considered and never would have thought would be as tasty as it actually is. I make it not just for Thanksgiving but year round. The kids find it to be a great treat for after dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Yikes. I thought this was awful, however my guests absolutely inhaled this and went home with the recipe. Oh well. One star from each of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
michelle makes this for thanksgiving
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
I made this for a holiday dinner and my family loved it. It did not have a strong cranberry flavor, but it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving and I've been asked to make it again for x-mas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honeoye, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
This was very good, made it in a jello mold and served on Thanksgiving, I don't usually eat Cranberry sauce (although I serve it) and this one changed my mind, it was delicious. Other reviewers are right you need to have the cream cheese at room temp to spread. Was easy to prepare in advance and refridgerate until you use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisascooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States