Cranberry Salad II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This came to my family from my grandmother (though after her death, an aunt revealed that it had been HER family's recipe) - as Southerners, we prefer pecans to walnuts, cut the sugar down to 3/4 cup, and reserve the pineapple juice to use for its equivalent in water. Makes the gelatin much more flavorful -- we still prefer the cherry jello to the cranberry -- otherwise too tart. Makes a lovely molded presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Borden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Everyone loved this! I was a little iffy about using celery so I used a peeled and diced granny smith apple instead. It turned out amazing. I will definitely be making this again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissWriteForLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
My family didn't like anything at all with the salad. I thought the orange took over the other taste. I had to add by sugar that what was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
This is just amazing! Wonderful bright flavors, interesting texture, beautiful color...a perfect addition to any table! And I'll never go back to jellied cranberry sauce again! Thank you! * I used 1/2 cup sugar and ground cranberries and orange together in my food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teasnob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
So good! I made this for Thanksgiving for my family and everyone loved it. I also made it for Christmas for my husbands family and they loved it as well! I will continue to make this every year :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarLemons86

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clearfield, Utah, USA
Living In: Peterborough, Cambridgeshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I used fresh cherries and sugar free gelatin. Very bad idea. Next time, I'll stick to the recipe, minus the celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
This recipe reminds me of the cranberry relish my step mom always made without the celery. I did cut the sugar down to 3/4 c and eliminated the celery. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Fantastic! Thanks for this recipe, it'll be something I use for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I love this recipe but next time I will definitely use half the water. It was too runny for my taste. But the flavor was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for Easter dinner. This is very good. My MIL and my new DIL both really liked it. It is especially tasty with Turkey or Ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States