Cranberry Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I learned to make this working in a family owned restaurant when I was in my twenties,which was almost twenty yrs ago,the recipe is slightly different then the way I learned to make it,the recipe called for 2 cups of sugar & used walnuts instead of pecans & the cranberries was frozen & then grind & then the pineapple & sugar added & set overnight & then finished with the rest of the ingredients the next day. Anyway it became a side dish at every Thanksgiving & Christmas & my family loved it. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yumola! This is exactly how my grandmother made it! First time whipping cream till it was stiff, just had to stick it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe was terrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Love Whipped Cream Cranberry Salad. The recipe I had the first time over 22 years ago was this recipe, except it had 1 cup of English walnuts instead of pecans and it had one up to two Delicious apples (chopped)added after you took the cranberry sugar mixture out of the fridge. I always make grind the cranberries, mix with sugar and sit over night. The next morning I assemble the rest of the salad. Definitely have to use real cream although one year I was dieting and used Lite Cool Whip. Gave me somewhat of the flavor but not nearly as good as with real whipped cream. I also only use 3/4 cup sugar and it is plenty sweet. Can hardly wait until Thanksgiving! This is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I am not a fan of cranberries, but wanted something different other than the jellied cranberries. Was so glad I had this for Thanksgiving, that I'm making it for Christmas too. I guess I didn't really read the recipe very well the first time, because I didn't let it sit for 12 hours. I added my Splenda Blend and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I made it 2 days in advance and it came out wonderful. So this time I am going to let it sit, but maybe for 6 hours. It will be a wonderful addition to my Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I have loved this salad for years. I like mine with a bit more crunch, so I add some diced apples and diced celery. You can't miss with this salad. Original version or tweated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This stuff was great. Like one person suggested, I did grind the marshamallows with the cranberries. I put the salad in a bowl to serve for Thanksgiving but the bowl wasn't quite large enough. This meant that I ate the excess right out of the mixing bowl. Yes, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I don't care for cranberry sauce, but this salad is one of the best things I ever put in my mouth!Love it. Why do I wait for the holidays to make it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I followed it exactly for our Thanksgiving dinner at work and it was a big hit! Not too sweet, not too tart. I did not read many reviews first, but am glad i did not double it like I was going to originally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was heavenly. The first time, I omitted the whipping cream on accident and the second time I used it... Both worked to be excellent dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States