Cranberry Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I learned to make this working in a family owned restaurant when I was in my twenties,which was almost twenty yrs ago,the recipe is slightly different then the way I learned to make it,the recipe called for 2 cups of sugar & used walnuts instead of pecans & the cranberries was frozen & then grind & then the pineapple & sugar added & set overnight & then finished with the rest of the ingredients the next day. Anyway it became a side dish at every Thanksgiving & Christmas & my family loved it. Definitely worth a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Yumola! This is exactly how my grandmother made it! First time whipping cream till it was stiff, just had to stick it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Selinna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This recipe was terrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Love Whipped Cream Cranberry Salad. The recipe I had the first time over 22 years ago was this recipe, except it had 1 cup of English walnuts instead of pecans and it had one up to two Delicious apples (chopped)added after you took the cranberry sugar mixture out of the fridge. I always make grind the cranberries, mix with sugar and sit over night. The next morning I assemble the rest of the salad. Definitely have to use real cream although one year I was dieting and used Lite Cool Whip. Gave me somewhat of the flavor but not nearly as good as with real whipped cream. I also only use 3/4 cup sugar and it is plenty sweet. Can hardly wait until Thanksgiving! This is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflower

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I am not a fan of cranberries, but wanted something different other than the jellied cranberries. Was so glad I had this for Thanksgiving, that I'm making it for Christmas too. I guess I didn't really read the recipe very well the first time, because I didn't let it sit for 12 hours. I added my Splenda Blend and proceeded with the rest of the recipe. I made it 2 days in advance and it came out wonderful. So this time I am going to let it sit, but maybe for 6 hours. It will be a wonderful addition to my Christmas table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I have loved this salad for years. I like mine with a bit more crunch, so I add some diced apples and diced celery. You can't miss with this salad. Original version or tweated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This stuff was great. Like one person suggested, I did grind the marshamallows with the cranberries. I put the salad in a bowl to serve for Thanksgiving but the bowl wasn't quite large enough. This meant that I ate the excess right out of the mixing bowl. Yes, it was that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I don't care for cranberry sauce, but this salad is one of the best things I ever put in my mouth!Love it. Why do I wait for the holidays to make it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I followed it exactly for our Thanksgiving dinner at work and it was a big hit! Not too sweet, not too tart. I did not read many reviews first, but am glad i did not double it like I was going to originally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was heavenly. The first time, I omitted the whipping cream on accident and the second time I used it... Both worked to be excellent dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States