Cranberry Relish with Grand Marnier® and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Wonderful as is, but then I added a dash of allspice for a little extra flavor. Cardamom would work nicely too. And triple sec works just fine if you don't have Grand Marnier. A tip for storing fresh ginger, which tends to spoil quickly: slice, put in a baggie, and freeze. Frozen ginger is easier to chop or mince. You can also freeze a whole "hand" (peeled or not) for grating but the consistency of the grated ginger will be a bit mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blancheskid

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've made this before and it's great! This time I borrowed an idea from "Superb Cranberry Sauce with Apples and Pears " and I added a diced apple and diced pear (cored, peel left on) and it was amazing, added another complex layer of flavor. I made it the day before Thanksgiving, but found out the day after it was even better. Next time I'm making this two days ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
For someone who grew up hating cranberry relish, this recipe is sublime! I made it to go with the traditional turkey, but also had plenty of leftovers--used some of it on a turkey sandwich (yum) and with a pork roast (yum again). I froze what was left, and that left me with some more to enjoy at a later date! I pretty much used the recipe as is, with the exception of a bit of lemon zest--the combination of lemon and orange brought out the flavors really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I enjoyed making this relish but it was tarter than my family usually enjoys. Next time out I think I will decrease the orange juice some and possibly increase the sugar. I liked the fact that you could taste a hint of the Grand Marnier but it wasn't "boozy" at all. A nice compliment to the mixture. I am sure that once I get the tartness balanced to my family's satisfaction that this will be a regular guest at our holiday dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This was a huge hit. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I subbed a couple shakes of powdered ginger instead. I also forgot to toast the pecans and just added them raw. Still turned out fabulous. My first time making cranberry sauce from scratch, and it was a breeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I substituted 1/4 teaspoon of ground ginger for the fresh root and it was just enough for a little hint of ginger. I also used Triple Sec in lieu of the Grand Marnier, omitted pecans (allergies) and increased the orange zest to 2-3 Tbsp.; its about what a small orange produced. Delicious, everyone enjoyed it, I will be making this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This went over so well on Thanksgiving, I have decided to make it again for Christmas. The flavors are well combined. This makes the perfect cranberry relish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is my favorite now. I followed the recipe exactly and ended up with 2 pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used Triple Sec and the relish was pretty good. My hubby didn't like the pecans so I can only give it four stars. The juice created is pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
To me, this is the perfect cranberry relish. Quite a bit more costly than that canned glop, as it should be. To my surprise , although everyone liked it, there were some people at my 18 people dinner who missed the old "traditional" canned stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Chef John's Mango Cranberry Sauce

See how to make mango cranberry sauce with a secret kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States