Cranberry Relish I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I chose this recipe because it includes apricot preserves, which adds a nice touch of sweetness, along with the pineapple. This relish has a wonderful red color. The consistency is nice, too. I ended up picking all the orange rind bits out for two reasons: My food processor didn't chop them uniformly and the bits looked unappetizing as well as out of place. The other reason is that my husband said it was way too bitter and sour for his liking. (My 17 mo. old liked it!) Once I picked the bits out, I thought the relish looked much better. There was also some orange "flesh" that didn't chop up that I had to pick out. Next time I think I will add some OJ and orange zest instead of chopping up an entire orange. We'll see how it goes over on Thanksgiving! Thanks, Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grwflwrs
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This was the best cranberry relish I had ever eaten. The recipe was easy and it turned out great. I will continue to make this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grwflwrs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I don't have a food processor, so I zested one orange, then cut off the white part, which is usually bitter, and finely chopped the orange. I also cut back the sugar to one cup, and omitted the lemon juice. It was very good! I think it would be good with chopped pecans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Very good. Makes a lot. You really do put the whole orange in, peel and all. I did process the cranberries before I cooked them because I prefer a more ground relish. I substituted peach jam for apricot preserves. The sugar can be cut back a little without being too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I had planned to make this for Christmas dinner, however once I started, I realized I did not have apricot preserves - instead I substituted cherry preserves. Everyone raved over it. I plan to make it again, next time trying it with the apricot preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Fantastic recipe!! I cleaned the seedless orange really well with a commercial fruit wash first, cut off both end tips, and cut out the middle "strings" - then had no problem pulverizing it in my food processor. After the cranberries were cooked (and the sugar melted) - I added the rest of the ingredients to the pan - and added 1 tbsp of pure maple syrup - and cooked it for a further 4 minutes on low/medium heat. Came out great - you could add more maple syrup if you want it sweeter...but cook it for a little longer. Will go great with our Thanksgiving meal tomorrow!! Would love to try this over baked brie...... Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Cut the sugar and pineapple in half and left out the lemon.I used the orange peel (a must),but didn't use the other part of the orange.My whole family couldn't stop saying how good this was.........even the ones who usually don't eat cranberries.And,it's sooo easy and cheap!!Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misdmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Super easy to make. I zested the orange as others had suggested, discarded the peel, then chopped the fruit to add to the other ingredients. I made this to embellish a baked ham. It was a huge hit. Additionally, another person had brought belgian waffles to the function and it was used up as a topping! It's pretty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is just what I have been looking for forever-I love the orange and rind. I have made it today and it is ready for Thanksgiving. Hope I dont eat it all before then. I had a 12oz bag of cranberries-so added less sugar-did add about a 1/4 cup of water while boiling the cranberries-came out wonderfully. Thanks Lisa for a great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I just made this with only 12 oz bag of cranberries, so I reduced the sugar to 1/4 cup. I used cherry preserves instead of apricot, as previous reviewer, and 4 clementines instead of an orange, which I both zested and food-processed whole. I kept all the other ingredients and portions the same. It tastes great. Can't wait to serve it on my Thanksgiving table tomorrow. Thanks Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States