Cranberry Relish I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I chose this recipe because it includes apricot preserves, which adds a nice touch of sweetness, along with the pineapple. This relish has a wonderful red color. The consistency is nice, too. I ended up picking all the orange rind bits out for two reasons: My food processor didn't chop them uniformly and the bits looked unappetizing as well as out of place. The other reason is that my husband said it was way too bitter and sour for his liking. (My 17 mo. old liked it!) Once I picked the bits out, I thought the relish looked much better. There was also some orange "flesh" that didn't chop up that I had to pick out. Next time I think I will add some OJ and orange zest instead of chopping up an entire orange. We'll see how it goes over on Thanksgiving! Thanks, Lisa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Fantastic recipe!! I cleaned the seedless orange really well with a commercial fruit wash first, cut off both end tips, and cut out the middle "strings" - then had no problem pulverizing it in my food processor. After the cranberries were cooked (and the sugar melted) - I added the rest of the ingredients to the pan - and added 1 tbsp of pure maple syrup - and cooked it for a further 4 minutes on low/medium heat. Came out great - you could add more maple syrup if you want it sweeter...but cook it for a little longer. Will go great with our Thanksgiving meal tomorrow!! Would love to try this over baked brie...... Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I had planned to make this for Christmas dinner, however once I started, I realized I did not have apricot preserves - instead I substituted cherry preserves. Everyone raved over it. I plan to make it again, next time trying it with the apricot preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe ROCKS! The oranges I had were HUGE so I only used a half of one, and I added Apriocot Brandy along with the preserves...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
Very good. Makes a lot. You really do put the whole orange in, peel and all. I did process the cranberries before I cooked them because I prefer a more ground relish. I substituted peach jam for apricot preserves. The sugar can be cut back a little without being too tart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
AWESOME! Made this for Thanksgiving and everyone raved! Several people asked me for the recipe. It's THE BEST cranberry relish we've ever tasted! I will make it a part of our Thanksgiving traditions from now on! Thanks Lisa!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I don't have a food processor, so I zested one orange, then cut off the white part, which is usually bitter, and finely chopped the orange. I also cut back the sugar to one cup, and omitted the lemon juice. It was very good! I think it would be good with chopped pecans as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I didn't have enough apricot preserves, so I did half apricot, half peach preserves. And I mashed up the cranberries into a bit of a purée, so they weren't whole berries, and the recipe turend out FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This one came out looking like cranberrys, but tasting like oranges...not what I expected. I made it the day before Thanksgiving so it could set up overnight, but the orange taste just got stronger. I most likely won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
This is a good Cranberry Relish. It is somewhat on the tart side, but we liked it very much. Just as easy as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fresh Cranberry Relish

This no-cook sauce is like a delicious seasonal fruit salad.

Cranberry Orange Relish with Orange Liqueur

This tart, sweet relish needs no cooking, and the liqueur packs a subtle punch.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States