Cranberry-Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
I own a small bakery in Charleston SC. I was looking for a pumpkin cookie and came across this recipe. Did a test bake and was absolutely floored. These cookies are amazing and now I can't keep them on the shelf. After they have cooled I dip the entire top into a milk and powdered sugar glaze. I allow that to dry overnight and this seals the moisture into the cookie. Thanks for sharing this formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
331 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Reading other postings I decided to try and make half with craisins and half with fresh cranberrys to see which I liked better. I'd definetely go with real cranberries - it's such an interesting, tangy taste that you don't get too often and the real cranberries look GORGEOUS in the cookies. I felt the craisins got lost in the cookies and you didn't taste them as much. Also, I did half a teaspoon of cinammon, half pumpkin pie spice. And per someones recommendation I sprinkled cinammon on top of the cookies - nice touch. I didn't have walnuts - used hazelnuts which were fine, but I'm betting walnuts would go better. Sometimes you make pumpkin cookies and you don't taste the pumpkin - you do here. You could even serve these along with your Thanksgiving meal instead of as a dessert if you were so inclined.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2002
I made a double batch for card club on Saturday, and they were such a hit! I can't eat sugar, so I used 1 cup of Splenda instead of sugar. They were so moist and delicious that everyone asked for the recipe and took baggies of them home with them! Great as a sugar free food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
These cookies are attractive, moist and delicious -- the perfect fall cookie. The fresh cranberries elevate the cookie to something truly different, perfectly tart. I'd avoid Craisins -- they are neither as pretty, moist nor tart. I sweetened the cookies and boosted the flavor with a 1/2 cup shredded coconut (if you don't like coconut, I'd add 1/4 cup of brown sugar) and added 1/8 tsp. of cloves and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg. I also substituted pecans because I prefer the taste to walnuts. I found there was no good substitute for the orange zest -- it adds a tremendous amount of flavor. Lastly, I drizzled the cooled cookies with powdered sugar mixed with milk, vanilla and cinnamon. Note that because much of the moistness of these cookies comes from pumpkin rather than butter or brown sugar, these cookies do not spread. As a result, round balls of dough will yield puffed golfball/haystacks as noted by another reviewer. To avoid this, when rotating my cookies at the halfway point of baking, I quickly flatten them down with a spatula (much easier than trying to flatten down sticky raw dough). By the time they finish baking, they are nicely puffed but in the traditional round, flat shape of a cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
I didn't have an orange, so I substituted in grated ginger. I wish I could bottle the smell of this batter! Great cookies - can't keep my roommate off them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
This cookie is absolutely delicious!!! It is everything it claims to be; light, fluffy, moist, and yummy. I like that I can taste the flavors of both the pumpkin and cranberry in this recipe. The sweetness is not overpowering, just enough. I'm a cookie maker, and this will definitely be added to my list of "go to" cookies. I did substitute whole wheat flour for the white flour (for health) and concentrated frozen OJ for the orange zest because I was too lazy to zest the orange. Also, I used my food chopper to chop the cranberries in batches. Not only was this easier, but the cranberries were more even distributed throughout the cookie. Still YUMMY!!! In the last 12 of the batch I added white morsels to trick my youngest daughter into eating them -- these were great too; still not too sweet. I already told my mom she needs to make these too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
I made these cookies with a little bit of concentraited orange juice instead of zest and 1 cup extra cranberries and they turned out great!!! I absolutely recomend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyssa Green

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Muncie, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2000
I love pumpkin. These were beautiful. Worth the work. I added a little bit more sugar the second time I made them. They are very moist, cake like cookie. Just perfect for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
These are awesome! I use half white flour and half whole wheat flour which I think makes them even better. I also use dried orange-flavored cranberries (Craisins). They're so moist and cakey - I don't like hard cookies. The guys in my office always ask when I'm going to bring in more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
Extremely soft! WARNING: You may eat all the cookies yourself! After I tasted the first cake-like puff of deliciousness I had to have another! My first bite was mild and lightly pumpkiny and the next bite was fun and tartness with the dried cranberries I used. I made my cookies with fresh flour, fresh pumpkin (not pureed-I still had teeny bits) and substituted allspice for the cinnamon. I didn't have nuts but these are very yummy anyway and they look beautiful-they came out perfectly round and full!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States