Cranberry-Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This was an excellent recipe. I only made a couple minor tweaks. First I doubled the cinnamon. Second, I used half turbinado sugar and half granulated sugar. If you've never baked with turbinado sugar, you should try it. It adds an extra texture and makes baked goods more moist. Delish! The fresh cranberries were a must, and I also popped them in the food processor. I put white chocolate chips in some and the others I made a white chocolate glaze. Both were fantastic and could go either way. I didn't have any issues with mine looking like golf balls - they flattened just enough. Love these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I'm a baking rookie and I followed this recipe making no changes. I think using fresh cranberries is critical. I found the cookies were kind of plain and not quite sweet enough- so I added a drizzle of sugary glaze I found at this recipe- "Old-Fashioned Soft Pumpkin Cookies" This saved the cookies and made them very, very good. Don't add too much glaze though otherwise it'll be too sweet! Next time I'll add more pumpkin, cranberries and add pumpkin spice, maybe some nutmeg. I'd still make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I made this once as the recipe recommends and it was good. I made it again with my own adjustments and it was 100x better. first I used 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1 cup of old fashioned oats. I more than doubled the cranberries and it could still have more to make it better. I also tripled the orange rind. I took 1 1/2 cups of pecans and crushed them into different sized chunks to add more texture and omitted the walnuts. I increased the pumpkin to 1 1/2 cups and added a few dashes of pumpkin pie spice and a bit more cinnamon than called for. finally, I added a generous handful of coconut. Next time I will try substituting applesauce for the butter and possibly honey for the sugar to make these into a yummy on the go fall breakfast rather than a cookie. Our whole family LOVED these with these adaptations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
These cookies are always fluffy and soft and delicious! My roommate loved them. They'll definitely be part of my fall baking routine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
We replaced the cranberries with semi-sweet chocolate chips and didn't add the nuts. We also added 1/2 tsp Nutmeg. Yum. My super picky kids loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
My husband and I didn't think these were really anything special, but other people thought they were the best ones out of the nine varieties I baked for Christmas cookies. We thought they didn't have much flavor and weren't sweet enough, so I made a confectioner's sugar/orange juice glaze to put over them, which helped, but still wasn't enough. It also helped to disguise the gross green color they turned out to be. Maybe it was because I used frozen cranberries, but after diligently cutting them into quarters it was frustrating to mix the beautiful red berries with the lovely orange dough and get a puke-green mixture. Next time I might try craisins or just toss the cranberries in the food processor. Definitely I'll add more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I liked them... they were different... and a bit cakey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Spousta

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Love these! Best right out of the oven, but still good the following day. (Mine didn't last any longer than that.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by matt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
delicious and moist, not too sweet, refreshing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KarenP
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Yummy! Left out the nuts due to nut allergy but other than that these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States