Cranberry-Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Love them!! I didn't have the nuts, so I used white chocolate chips instead! So....yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
My kids absolutely love these. I've made them several times now, and the best way seems to be after I've made a few adjustments. (not because it's bad the original way, just because I try to use less sugar and fat.) I doubled this recipe, and used half sugar, and half splenda. I cut half the butter as well, and used applesauce in it's place. I didn't have fresh cranberries on hand, so instead I used dried. Rather than throwing them in as they were though, I soaked them in boiling water for about 5 minutes, so that they softened and puffed up. Then I drained them, and threw them in. I've done this before when baking other cookies that called for cranberries. It does a LOT for bringing out the flavour of the cranberries. We also used lime once instead of lemon. Just as good:) This one is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Threw in a handful of chocolate chips. Loved by adults and children alike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I love pumpkin recipes -cookies, breads, etc- and the fact that these have fresh cranberries makes them rise above the usual pumpkin fare. I had some frozen cranberries that I used and the recipe turned out great. I used a cookie scoop so the finished product wasn't perfectly smooth or uniform but that doesn't matter to me. I also don't like orange zest nor walnuts, so I skipped those ingredients. These cookies were very moist, chewy, and dense - characteristics I really enjoy about baked pumpkin goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
These are the best fall cookies! We loved them! I was a little scared to make them because it seemed like people had to make a lot of adjustments to the recipe; however, I only made one and I thought they turned out great!! Here are some tips people may find helpful. 1.Make sure you grease your cookie sheet.2. Adjust your cooking time.I cooked mine 9mins in a gas stove.3.You have to flatten these cookies for the perfect shape. I used a tablespoon to spoon them out (which I sprayed with Pam, so they would just pop right out.The dough IS a little sticky).I then took the bottom of the tablespoon (mine is flat) and flattened them. I also formed them a little to get the circular shape. The adjustment I made was I added 1 tablespoon pumpkin pie spice. Another thing I did, which is completely optional, was I added a orange juice-powdered sugar glaze.I used the juice from the orange I zested and added powdered sugar until it was the right consistency. Add this once they've cooled. I had one without the glaze and it was really good, but I think it's even better with the glaze. LOVED these!!I got 41 cookies out of the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittany Owens

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
i made these without the nuts and added some pumpkin pie spice and fresh ginger. the first one i ate was bitter and i didn't think i cared for them at all. the second one was much better, and i was pleasantly surprised that my 19 month old LOVED them. my husband liked them so much he requested a second batch be made to take to work. i thought this was a 4 star winner ( 4 stars because i had added spices ) but while i was making the second batch i ate another of the cookies from the first batch and it already tastes stale and strange. they have an odd texture anyway, but i couldn't believe how quickly they turn to mush. i iced the first batch with a cream cheese icing my toddler loved. the second batch i drizzled with a sugar/milk/corn syrup glaze (i threw in a pinch of cinnamon) and my husband and i liked those better. i wish they were crunchier, but maybe it's the pumpkin that give them their texture. i don't think these will even be edible by morning, too bad i made so many thinking they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I just finished making these cookies. Very good recipe! I only gave it 4 stars b/c i made a couple of changes based on other reviewers having problems with it being too moist. I squeezed out the moisture from the pumpkin puree and omitted the baking powder and increased the baking soda by 1 teaspoon. Added a little bit of flax just for some extra nutrition. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These cookies have an odd texture - very cake-like, but moist and delicious nonetheless. I love them. They have a great, unusual flavor and almost seem healthy? Well, maybe not healthy, but less like a cookie and more like a trail snack or something. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Excellent cookies... made two batches this weekend. My college boys were in town and the house was full of hungry teens. Made with craisens and they were fine and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gitano
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Really soft, fluffy cookies! although lacking in the spice department. Wanted to try them EXACTLY as written - next time I will add more cinnamon and probably some allspice/cloves or just throw a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice in, that would be good. I made a dozen cookies, then got a brainwave to make bars out of them. They are so soft and fluffy, almost cake-like that they turned out really good! I baked them for about 45 minutes though until toothpick inserted came out clean. Overall - a great cookie recipe for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gitano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 131-140 (of 304) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

White Chip Orange Cookies

These 5-star Christmas cookies have tantalizing vanilla and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States