Cranberry-Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Some of the cranberries got hard. Over all this recipe didn't disappoint me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
Loved the recipe. I made some changes to make the cookies "healthy". I used whole wheat pastry flour instead of the regular white stuff. I used expeller pressed canola oil instead of butter. I used 1 cup of UNPACKED light brown sugar instead of the white stuff. And finally, i used pumpkin kernels instead of walnuts. The pumpkin kernels deemed appropriate since the cookies were made from pumpkin. The cookies turned out FANTASTIC. Just so the readers know, vegetable oil is better for you than animal fat (butter) so the canola oil works best. Olive oil could be used but it has a distinct flavor but does not keep its heart healthy fats at HIGH temperatures so it's not good for baking or cooking. But if you DON'T care about the heart healthy fats then you most certainly CAN use olive oil as a binder (but remember the flavor!). Also, the whole wheat PASTRY flour is low glycemic and has fiber so it makes the cookies filling without the sugar high (along with using UNPACKED light brown sugar). Whole wheat PASTRY flour is
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Recipe was great. Didn't have fresh cranberries since we had made homemade cranberry sauce so we substituted some cranberry sauce for a portion of the pumpkin. Was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
These are my family's favorite cookies, I add cherries and oatmeal which really make them rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I loved them and brought them to an office meeting and everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Wow, these are moist, soft, delicious cookies! After reading the reviews I did add extra cinnamon and a bit of cloves and nutmeg. The orange zest really enhances the flavor! These are not too sweet, so the various flavors really stand out -- pumpkin, fresh cranberries, walnuts, with the touch of cinnamon and orange zest. I ran a bake sale at my church today and these cookies were a big seller. Thanks for a great, unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Loved these!! Made a double batch to take some to work and freeze some for the holidays. Love the sweet and tart flavors. This will be a staple recipe for me for the holidays from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I made these cookies a few times. Reading reviews one person chopped cranberries– 1st time I put cranberries through a slicer-didn’t like result. Next time followed recipe totally – cranberries were SO GOOD whole and fresh - next time used 2 ½ cups of cranberries. I used a 1½ inch scoop for cookie size. Small number of cranberries leftover- I simply stuck on cookies – then used sliced almonds topping cookie dough and press the cookies a little wider, and baked at 375 for 18 minutes. The cookies do not spread at all – so they can be close together on cookie sheet for baking. One review used milk and powdered sugar frosting after cookies cooled. First few times I used normal consistency for powdered sugar frosting. This photo I used a thin frosting (enough milk the frosting was a runny consistency) using pastry brush covered cookies lightly. The cake like cookies with the crunchy almonds – oh – what an improvement, I simply used the almonds because they were ‘on hand’ (I’d over purchased sliced almonds for another cookie use!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Had this for the first time tonight and it was amazing! Definitely need the tang of the cranberries, that made it so interesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I've made these many times, and they're always really popular! Today I doubled the cranberries, added some lemon zest and orange juice concentrate (lack of an orange made me follow other reviewers' experience), and added more cinnamon and some all spice. Even without these additions, these are still incredible. Just the right amount of sweetness - and so cakey! Many people have asked for the recipe! Thanks for a great cookie :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 288) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States