Cranberry Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I used Nutriblend Pastry flour instead of white -1/2 c. Br Sugar Splenda (in place of reg sugar) -more Cinnamon (1 1/2 Tsp) -1/3 c unsweetened applesauce (in place of oil) -zest of 1 whole orange -2 1/2 c. chopped walnuts. The rest I kept the same. This recipe freezes REALLY well & my husband has told me it's a KEEPER - I think so too... You certainly don't have to add more nuts like I did, but it works for us. I've seen the applesauce sub for oil on this site and am grateful to eveyone who has made comments regarding it - it works fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
Great recipe! The only changes I made were to use 2 eggs instead of egg substitute, and sprinkle a little more walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Yummy, spicy bread. In hindsight, I think it would have benefited from dried cranberries in the mix too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I made this as muffins with a few small changes and they're great! I used 2 cups of flour and 1.5 cups rolled oats. I skipped the cloves and I used a splash of orange juice instead of orange zest. I also used 2 eggs instead of egg substitute. We'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I used the recipe with this changes:I used 2cups of whole wheat flour a 11/2 cups of white flour to increase the nutritional value, and made as muffins for about 22mins. It was moist and delicious, I took some to work and it disappeared, my daughters loved it as well. Thanks for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Love this recipe. Easy to make too! I did not use nuts as some friends are allergic. I used a little more cinnamon, cloves and orange zest. The zest of a medium orange work great. The flavors are great together! I've made this for 2 years and make loaves for gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The flavors were very good and intriguing. I definately thought it needed more pumpkin spices though. Also, I thought the texture was much too mushy, sort of like baked baby food puree. Next time I will use cranberrys instead of sauce and mix the nuts into the batter as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
This was fun to make, and it was nice to use up the whole cranberry sauce can! I brought them into work in as a cake (a very full 10x15 - 30 min) with a bit of cream cheese frosting. In all honesty, the greenish-red color put people off. If I make it again, I'd use red food coloring. The people that tried it liked how moist it was and the flavor combo. Thanks for the recipe JJohn32!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I thought this was great. My husband accidentally bought whole cranberry sauce and so I looked for a recipe for it. This is fabulous. Everyone that has tried it loves it. Now it has become a tradition the past two years and I'm sure will continue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELINIBETH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bennington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
Thanks alot. Lovely combination of flavours. Really do appreciate the rich colour & texture, (in my culture, light coloured = undercooked). Also recipe easily lends itself to personal variations, although original is quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tunapuna, Tunapuna-Piarco, Trinidad And Tobago

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States