Cranberry Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Excellent. We used to buy cranberry puddings from Cranberry Creek, but they're very expensive, particularly when including shipping costs! Finding a recipe that actually tops the pudding we fell in love with was amazing! No changes necessary. Make sure to serve with the butter cream sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
You better like molasses and its smell. There are so many excellent cranberry pudding recipes that put this one to shame. I served this to my guests and they all enjoyed it but it has an unpleasant odor and it isn't great. I added orange courvoisier to the sauce to punch it up. Without the added liquor I don't think anyone would have enjoyed this very plain not so pleasant tasting dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NELLIEST

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I was looking for a cranberry pudding recipe to mimic the one my grandma made every christmas. This came very close in flavor and texture. (My Grandma's always came out very dark in color.. maybe blackstrap would of made it darker?) . I topped mine with a brandied whipped cream instead of the sauce listed here. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
This recipe has been in my step-mother's family for about 4 generations so I'm thinking it's pretty old. I've made it every year for the past 10 years and my dad and stepmom love it, and so do I. A few things though. this recipe is very temperamental and must be babied. You must steam it for exactly 1 1/2 hours. I use a LARGE stock pot, put a little water in the bottom along with a small cup saucer so the pudding doesn't burn. Bring the water to a boil, place the ingredients in a small round casserole dish, put the dish on the saucer in the stock pot of boiling water, simmer with pot covered for exactly 1 1/2 hours for best results. DO NOT PEEK AT DISH WHILE IT'S STEAMING. You'll lose your steam. You can substitute canned cranberries for fresh, but fresh is best. But canned makes a more moist pudding. You can also use 1 cup of brown sugar instead of sugar to make a caramel sauce and Half and Half cream for a less sweet sauce. I once accidently used whipping cream instead of the usually half and half cream and found this makes the best sauce. yummy, yummy, yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Kouski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is the same as my Grandmother's recipe and I have been having it for every Thanksgiving and Christmas for my whole life...I am 51 years old. It is a must have! I always make 2 or 3 puddings and freeze them so there is plently to last through the season. If you haven't had before you should try it. It's easy to make. The sauce is important too, be generous. It makes a wonderful gift as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I made this for the first time today and it turned out great! Perfect consistency. I cut all the berries in half before adding to the flour to prevent the problem of them not bursting. I love the little pockets of tartness among the sticky molasses flavored cake. This one is a keeper for sure! Thanks for sharing Jerri!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I tasted this dessert and it was delicious. Now, I did follow this recipe and it turned out weird. It`s like there was not enough liquid in it and not enough baking soda. It turned out like a ball of playdough, tough and rubbery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Like another reviewer, I used my steamer and perhaps that's why it didn't turn out. I didn't bother to make the sauce but maybe that sweetness would have helped because the pudding itself was tart and had a weird taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I followed a reviewers advice and put the pudding in a 9x13 pan, increasing the ingredients 1 1/2 times so it would fit the pan better. I covered it with foil and baked it in another (little bigger) pan of water at 325. I think it turned out the way it was supposed to, the berries popped and it was not sour. My problem was with the sauce, it was gritty from the sugar. I am going to try it again since the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
OK, I love steamed pudding and I love cranberries...why did this turn out so weird? Granted, I did use my steamer instead of a saucepan, but I have made many breads and puddings in my steamer. The pudding texture was great, but very weird tasting and the cranberries were soooooo sour. I expected them to pop while cooking; they did not. I did not want to add all that fat with the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Mini Dark Chocolate Pudding Cakes

See how to make mini pudding cakes with luscious dark chocolate.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States