Cranberry Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Basset Hound Mommy
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This is one of my fiancé’s new favorite recipes. He’s not a picky eater by any means (thank goodness!), but few recipes make it onto his “favorites” list. This is one of them though! For six chops, I used frozen cranberries; approximately 1/2 c. sugar; 1/2 t. pepper; added dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves; and added close to 1/3 of a diced yellow onion. I highly recommend adding the spices; they really help complete the dish. Also, to turn the juices into more of a sauce, I added cornstarch near the end of cooking. Easy and elegant dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Basset Hound Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Great recipe! I made this for dinner last night for my wife. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used only 2 boneless, thick cut pork loin chops, and I substituted Splenda for the sugar. The recipe turned out great. I finished the meal with brown rice (spooned some of the reduced cranberry sauce over the rice) and mixed broccoli, cauliflower and carrots. Fully satisfying dinner. Thanks for thsi recipe. We will be serving it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
I really enjoyed the varied flavors that came out of this (really good around the holidays) and how juicy the chops were. I enjoyed it more than my boyfriend, but I LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blakr0seimm0rtal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
awesome! Will make regularly. I used fresh cranberries, cooked for 40 minutes and added a little extra bit of water at the end (as suggested in recipe). Pork was cooked just right. Used a non-stick frying pan. Served with steamed veg and a baked potato and my boyfriend and I were both really happy with this meal! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leah
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Delectable, as well as beautiful with fresh cranberries. I'm sending this recipe to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I had some leftover cranberry sauce from Thanksgiving to use up so I tried this recipe with some thinly sliced pork loin chops. So Good!!! I added half an onion to the mix of leftover home made cranberry sauce. It was tart and sweet and Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vampyra1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
A fantastic recipe & so easy! My husband and I loved it. I substituted half of the sugar for Splenda and it still tasted great. I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Talina
Home Town: Silver Creek, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good! I love using cranberries in savory dishes, especially with pork. I added half a chopped onion on the advice of another reviewer and used chicken broth instead of water. I also added some dried herb mix (tarragon, rosemary, thyme) and fresh parsley towards the end of cooking. I'll make this one again..would be great for guests, it's such a rich deep color that looks very impressive on a white plate. Had this with brown rice and sauteed green beans. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was yummy. I added a can of mandarin oranges, juice and all. Some salt, some pepper. I used cornstarch to thicken it, but it almost didn't need it. I decided to have a backup plan, in case people didn't like it, so I cooked a couple chops just with shake and bake. To taste on it's own the sauce was a little weird, so I had the shake and bake chops on the ready. But the sauce with the meat was fantastic! We served it like a dipping sauce. So what happened with the backup chops? With the sauce, they were EVEN BETTER than the simmered chops!! Next time, I'll just make the sauce to serve with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
Wow! My husband (who never cooks) made these for me for a surprise dinner, and he said they were very, very easy to make. They turned out SO well, and the recipe doesn't need a thing changed. He served it with fresh asparagus and boiled red potatoes, and it was perfect. I would suggest using a high-quality pork chop though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gladstone, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States