Cranberry Pork Chops II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
this is a simple, quick and yummy dish. As many others, i used one can of whole berry cranberry sauce in place of fresh cranberries and omitted the sugar totally. I through in some cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, orange zest and red pepper. i did add a chopped onion while browning the pork chops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I cut the sugar down to a half cup as suggested by others and used about 1/2 cup of apple cranberry juice and 1/2 cup water for the sauce. I also threw in about 1/2 cup of sliced apple. It turned out really well, and it was a lot more tender than I had anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Loved it. Used bone in pork chops. Made following changes per suggestions of other reviews: 2 1/4 cup canned whole cranberries, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1 tbs brown sugar, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 chopped med size onion. Kept everything else the same. Served with stuffing and baked asparagus. Was a hit with picky husband. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Easy to make and tastes great. I made a few changes based on other comments: I didn't use any water, just the liquid left over from browning the chops. I only used half the white sugar, plus about 1/2 a tablespoon of brown sugar. I added some orange juice and orange zest, and a little bit of ginger and red pepper flakes. I also added some kecap manis, which is a thick Indonesian sweet soy sauce available in Asian markets. Soy sauce would work well, too. Turned out great. I served it with mashed potatoes, which tasted good with the cranberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Very nice! What a wonderfully different way to make pork chops! As others had suggested, I kept my sugar on the light side, as I didn't want it too sweet. Had it and some stir fried kale and a sweet potato on the side - yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flying Wizard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
NOM! I did add the onions as someone suggested. Also, we don't really love sweet stuff so I added a little sugar at a time. It was so tart and yummy with the pork. Super tender. Oh and instead of water I added pineapple orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChefScharny
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This was definately a new way to make pork chops for me... but it is definately one I will make again... I ended up adding quite a bit of water to them as it kept cooking down... everyone loved these... suprisingly great combination!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Very tasty! I didn't have fresh or frozen cranberries so I just used a can of whole berry cranberry sauce and 1/2 cup of sugar instead of 3/4 cup. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Yummy!!! I didn't have fresh cranberries, so used a can of whole cranberry sauce with only 1/2 cup sugar. I also added 1/2 a chopped onion for some additional flavor. I did not need to add any water as the recipe stated as the chops made their own liquid. As a matter of fact, I had to add a bit of flour to thicken the sauce into a gravy consistency. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States