Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This is perhaps the most fantastic cookie I have ever made in my life. Here are my tips: 1) I used 1/2 the amount of dried cranberries (actually used orange crasins) 2) I used 1 tsp. of orange zest and added it right into the batter (next time I am upping this to 1 tablespoon) 3) I used slivered almonds instead of the pistachio nuts. The slivered almonds worked very well because they did not "chunk up" the batter. 4) When I took the loaves out of the oven, I immediately covered them with two dishtowels so that the loaves would cool more slowly. It's the sudden change in temperature that makes things out of the oven "crack" on top, and the dishtowels minimized this. 5) I transferred one loaf at a time to my wooden cutting board and cut diagonal slices with a large bread knife. I did now saw. I simply leaned into it with my body weight, and all my slices came out pretty cleanly. I also first cut off just a tad bit from either in at first before cutting the slices off. 6) I melted white chocolate in the microwave and dipped on end in, then sprinkled with red and green colored sugars. By doing all of this, (oh, plus you MUST wet your fingertips while working with the dough before it goes in the oven), I got 24 clean slices. These freeze beautifully as well. I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1269 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is a wonderful recipe. Italian friends have told me this taste "just the way biscotti is supposed to taste." I reduced pistachios by 1/2 cup and increased the cranberries by 1/2 cup. I also add 1/2 tsp. real orange extract. Otherwise, the recipe is perfect. If you are not getting 3 dozen, you may be making the logs too wide. Make them 2 inches wide and then flatten them slighty. It is a smaller biscotti than those sold in jars at coffee shops. DON'T use butter or margarine. Find a light good quality olive oil. Butter doesn't belong in biscotti--it won't age well and will become rancid instead of allowing the flavor to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
588 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
By gads! This is the very =best= biscotti recipe! Usually I can't stand those nasty little bricks, but these are delicious! Try these even if you usually don't like biscotti... m-m-m-m yummy. HINT: Use a regular knife to cut these... the serrated blade makes a big mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LisaD
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
Yum! I used orange-flavored Craisins, used 1c cran & 1c pistachio, and added about 1/4 tsp orange extract. Based on a review that said these spread out a lot, I made two perfectly round logs (the hand-wetting tip worked perfectly). After 45 minutes of baking, it still wasn't very brown (but it was done), it didn't spread THAT much, and it was very difficult to cut. I used a good serrated knife, but I still had to cut them wider just to get a slice that didn't break apart (though some still did). Since they tasted so good, I thought I'd try a second batch. My adjustments: I very coarsely chopped the cranberries and pistachios; I reduced the cran/pistachio amounts to 3/4 cup each (though in hindsight, the chopping might have been enough to help simplify cutting - I might use the full 1 cup next time); I flattened the logs a bit; and I brushed an egg wash on the logs (1 egg + 1Tb water). After 40 minutes of baking, the cookies had a great brown color, and had spread perfectly. I let them cool 10 minutes on the cookie sheet, then carefully transferred them to my cutting board, where I let them cool another 10 minutes or so. What a difference - it was so much faster and easier to cut them.. they came out looking perfect. I drizzled with white chocolate to finish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2003
Excellent recipe that won me a baking contest! Soft enough that they can be eaten without being dipped in a drink. Make sure to let the logs cool before slicing them, otherwise they will crumble and fall apart. Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
These are fantastic! I've made several bathces of these in the past few months. Yes, the nuts can be difficult to cut through- I coarsley chop mine. I've also coated one side in white chocolate then drizzled it with milk chocolate- beautiful presentation & tastes great! DO use parchment paper, as the recipe calls for, or they will stick. Wetting your hands does make shaping the sticky dough very easy. These also freeze beautifully. 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
these are delicious-I made them with olive oil and the 2nd time I use margerine. I liked them better with margerine - I added more cranberries and dipped in white choc-yummy! I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yakima, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2003
I messed up this recipe - I was out of vanilla and acidentally poured way too much almond extract in the mix. It still came out very good. Only problem was cutting them -- they break in half if you are not careful. They are so much better than store bought versions. I do receommend having a bowl of chilled water near you for dipping and rinsing your hands becasue the dough is super sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This tastes great and not to mention is a snap to make. Some helpful hints: 1.Divide the dough while it's still in the bowl, preferably next to the sink so you can wet your hands and then scoop out and form the loaves. If your hands are wet, the stickiness will not be an issue. 2. It's totally FINE to substitue a vegetable oil like canola if you don't have light olive oil --they are basically comparable (light olive oil is still olive oil but stripped of its flavor to cater to more "American" taste--you don't find light olive oil in Italy, for example). 3. The loaves WILL crumble during slicing, so just go slow, use a good serrated knife, and don't worry about perfection. These are homemade and IMHO are even better when they look a bit rustic. Who wants mass-produced looking biscotti?? 4. Ovens vary so go by how your oven traditionally runs, hotter or cooler. I found that even though my oven thermometer indicated proper temp., I still had to increase the 2nd bake from 10 to 15 minutes. 5. Finally, biscotti will harden as it cools so if you follow this recipe to a "T" you should have no problems. (Don't you just love it when people make all sorts of substitutions and then complain that the recipe doesn't work? ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I never dreamed I could make biscotti at home. This recipe was soooo easy and very delicious. I am planning on making more to give away as gifts for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 991) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States